Freyja Says ‘Hey!’

Heidrun says hello as well. Maybe since she is half-Swiss, she says “hallo”. Unless she is Swiss-Italian or Swiss-French, then she would say something clever in one of those languages that wouldn’t make sense to my brain.

Anyway! The goaties are doing real well. Freyja and Heidrun are total besties now. You wouldn’t even realize that they were having a little feud when Heidrun first arrived. It was a regular Westside Story out there. But now they are happy, fat goats. It took some time for Freyja to fill back out after her triplets. I think that now she is at a healthy weight.

20140802-131802-47882384.jpg

20140802-131804-47884066.jpg

Heidrun on the other hand, is a sleek, yet bulky girl. It is quite funny actually because she never gorges on weeds or treats or even her alfalfa pellets like Freyja does. She eats like a 17th century noble woman with a dinner course of quail eggs and one lettuce leaf. Strike that. She dines. There is just no way to describe it to someone who has never seen it.

Meanwhile, Freyja literally runs to the food and inhales everything but the feed bin in 2 seconds or less.

Heidrun will dine on a weed or two and then prance around the goat pen. Yes, prance. Trevor and I were making fun of her the other day because she was trotting around the pen with some buck brush we threw in as if she were a show pony or a deer or something. I have never seen a goat walk like she does. Scratch that. She tip-toes delicately.

Goats are great entertainment.

2 thoughts on “Freyja Says ‘Hey!’

  1. Isn’t it amazing how animals have their own distinct personalities? It always blows my mind and it is very amusing to watch. We don’t have goats but three little doggies and we also get a kick out of watching them. We have the one who, like Freyja, inhales his food (and anything that could be food), the one who actually sits down and eats his food, one kibble at a time, and the lady who only eats when no one sees her!

  2. Hello!

    I have been a big fan of your blog for nearly a year now, but I’ve always been a bit to shy to say anything.
    I’m a sophomore in high school who has a big interest in all things self sufficient and agricultural. Those are some very challenging things to be interested in in high school. You can imagine what it was like on that first day introducing myself; “Hi, my name is Abigail, I’m a sophomore, and I want to be a homesteader when I get older.”
    Anyways, I just wanted to say that you have been a role model for me this past year and because of you, I planted my own tiny garden in my tiny backyard. It’s not much, but I think it has impressed my parents, who told me that next spring they would help me squeeze in two more raised beds.
    The long term plan is to make it out f school, buy my own couple of acres, and slowly build a lifestyle based on the principles of freedom and simplicity.
    Thanks for everything Ms. Sarah!

    Cheers,
    Abigail

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

