Crock Pot Greek Yogurt Using Raw Goat Milk

We really don’t drink milk around here. I know, it sounds weird considering we have dairy goats now. We may not care for milk in a glass, but we do enjoy all those dairy-based foods. Mozzarella, feta, chèvre, mac n’ cheese (awesome use for goat cheese), Gjetost, ranch dressing, chip dip, cream cheese sour crem, and… yogurt.

I do have two more goat milk foods to mark off my bucket list: hard cheese (like cheddar or jack) and using chèvre or cream cheese to make a cheese cake. If any of you out there have good recipes for small batch hard cheese using goat milk, let me know. I will love you forever.

For now, I am absolutely smitten with the yogurt I made yesterday. It was easy. It was painless. It used two ingredients. It turned out rich and creamy. This recipe is definitely a winner in my book.

This batch will be used for both regular yogurt –with honey drizzled haphazardly ontop– and some will be used as a test for frozen yogurt. Mmmmm.

20140720-091353-33233704.jpg

Crock Pot Yogurt

:: makes 2 quarts
• 2 quarts milk (raw is best, but you can use milk that has been minimally pasteurized; not ultra-pasturized)
• 1/4 cup Greek yogurt starter (use the last of that container from the store as long as it says it contains “live and active cultures”)

Pour 2 quarts of milk into crock pot. Cover and heat to the “low” setting for approximately 2.5 hours or until the milk has reached 110*F for 30 minutes.

Turn off the crock pot and cool the milk with the lid on until the milk meets 110*F.

Add the yogurt culture or finished Greek yogurt. Do not add your culture if the milk temperature exceeds 115*F. Mix well with a whisk.

Cover the mixture. Wrap in towels and let sit for 8-12 hours. Refrigerate for 6 hours before eating (it will thicken a bit more during this time).

Bam! Yogurt. I told you it was easy. You have no excuse now. Especially since you can keep the yogurt going forever by always saving that last 1/4 cup to start the next batch.

20 thoughts on “Crock Pot Greek Yogurt Using Raw Goat Milk

  1. This sounds great. Since I have 5 crocks in this house. Just one question? You say cook till 110 but then cool till 110 ?? Is it that I’m reading it wrong. Thanks. Grandkids are coming this week. It will be great to do with them. Each will get their own crock pot! Mare

  2. I used this video as a guide. I didn’t check the PH because it was my first hard cheese. And yes, I used our goats milk. (frosting had a baby!!! yea!) Also, for a cheese press…I have tons of real Tupperware. I have a round canister that I drilled holes into the bottom side edge part. Three 1/4in holes right at the base. To press it i pulled out my barbell weights and used the 5 lb ones because they fit in my container. So curds went into the container lined with flour sack towels…(my version of cheese cloth and I like it better) then i folded the cloth over the curds, placed another containe, flat side down, on top and the slid the weights down the container to rest on the other one. LOL this is hard to follow. I hope you are getting it. maybe I will make a video of what I did. Anyway…I am waiting to get a real cheese press until I get better at cheese. Like a reward! thanks for the yogurt recipe, i have been struggling to get a thinker goat yogurt.

  3. I don’t have a crock pot and make 2 gallons nearly every week of yogurt in a pot on the stove (I have a big yogurt loving family, and we don’t drink milk either. I use to do the whole wrapping in blankets thing for years, until I discovered that you can use your oven for the insulation and heat retaining! I simply get the milk ready with the heating, cooling and add the culture. I pour the mixture in to glass jars (even keeping it in the pot will do), add a lid and place in the oven. Don’t heat the oven or anything, just place your containers of milk in there and leave it for 12 or so hours. It turns out perfectly! Occasionally, I’ve had a batch turn out too runny (maybe twice a year) but that’s probably from me messing up the heating/cooling temps, I don’t have a thermometer and use the old stick your finger in trick 🙂

  4. I wanted to mention, I live on the central coast in Cali…maybe if you live in a different climate this oven idea may or may not work/be needed. For instance, a friend in Puerto Rico, leaves hers in the garage overnight (no wrappings) and when I lived in India, people their just leave their ‘curd’ overnight on the kitchen counter (no wrappings)

  5. I was going to say almost the same thing as Katrina, except you can make it easier by even another step. You do NOT have to heat the milk first. In fact your yogurt probably wasn’t raw anymore after the time in the crock pot on low. I used to heat mine first and then put it in the dehydrator at 100 degrees for 24 hours to allow enough time for the bacteria to eat all the lactose, until I realized this. You can simply add two tablespoons of pre-made yogurt to a quart jar about 1/4 full of raw milk. Shake well to mix it in and then fill jar and shake once more. Place in a dish in oven with the light on. 24 hours later you have deeeelicious raw yogurt 🙂 We didn’t really drink our goats milk the first few years either. Now we want to drink it and make yogurt, and cheese so we’re getting yet another goat! I’ll be making feta and chèvre and another cheese soon and will let you know how they go (all raw).

    • We’ve had good luck with absolutely raw chèvre. I don’t have a big enough dehydrator to do your method, but I’ve seen it done before. I called mine raw because. Used raw milk to begin with, but I agree that is not very raw at all by the end. Yes! Keep me informed on all your cheesy ideas and recipes!

  6. You can make yogurt or sour cream basically the same way (using any of the mentioned methods), except the difference is to use (preferably) raw milk for the yogurt and cream for the sour cream. For those that are lactose intolerant you need some kind of reliable, adjustable heater to keep the heat between 105* and 115* for 24 to 30 hours (30hrs is best, but NOT over 32hrs. as it will kill the probiotics). This amount of time/temperature will get rid of just about all of the lactose and casein proteins and just about everyone with this type of allergy problem can eat either one without any problems. It is still best for those with allergy sensitivity to put a drop of sour cream or yogurt on the inside of the wrist at bed time and let it dry. Check to see if it is an angry red in the morning – if so, don’t eat it – you can check every 3 weeks or so, especially if you have been improving your diet. If it does check out okay, start consuming the suspect food/liquid real slow (1 tsp every 3 days) and work up to how much you would normally consume. Homemade sour cream/yogurt is especially good for you because of the natural fats and the probiotics. If you have a large, temp controlled dehydrator this works great.
    Sarah – I have directions to make a Styrofoam oven (or cooler – my own invention that works really well as it gives a consistent temp) that is powered by a 25 watt bulb. I would be glad to include it here in the comments if you would like – just be forewarned that the instructions are a little over a full page (on 8 X 11 paper) and I don’t know if you would want me to take up that much space.

  7. Thanks Sarah, I did read it wrong. The way you said it now makes sense to me. Thank you. And Again Sorry, That’s why I like hands on. Just don’t read very good. I’m going to get the crock pot out now and try it!!!!!!

  8. Finally did it !!!!!!! Hubby loves it !!!! No more store bought for us. Now I have to get a Jersey cow!!!! Do you have one that can be mailed to Inverness, Florida. Sorry, I have to get a cow not a goat. Have a Great Weekend. Thanks again !

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

