More Hügeliness

That’s not a real word, FYI. But since I am the blogger here, I give myself the right to use ridiculous words using references that most people do not understand.

Just yesterday, Trevor and I were out looking at the hügelkultur bed and evaluating its progress when he turns to me and says, “You know, you can’t just go around talking about hügelkulturs like everyone knows what you’re talking about.”

I’m sorry fellow earthlings. I didn’t mean to use alien words in normal conversation. Farming/homesteading lingo is picked up and spewed forth like movie references. You either totally get it and laugh about it, or you are suddenly in a dark, dark room trying to figure out what just happened.

I should start writing down all the random advice Trevor has for me on how to be normal. God knows I’m not going to actually follow any of it, but it would still make for a good laugh here in the blog.

Without further ado, here are some better pictures of our 3-week old hügelkultur. Everything was started from seed.

20140603-082151.jpg

20140603-082200.jpg

20140603-082223.jpg

20140603-082212.jpg

20140603-082230.jpg

11 thoughts on “More Hügeliness

  1. My hubby and I are working on a massive hugel project in front of our house. Unfortunately, it comes in The middle of the craziest graduation and wedding season our immediate family has ever seen. 2 grads and one wedding for our kids alone! So I don’t think our project will be finished and covered in time for planting this year.

  2. I’m in the second year on my Hugelkulture bed and digging the pit for the second one. Have you ever grown Phacelia seeds? I’ve planted them for the bees, as well as Wallflowers, borage, and California Poppies. The poppies are blooming already, but the Phacelia is going to be a month or two later. Pictures to follow!

  3. Check out this video I just watched on Phacelia plants. After watching it, I think I’ll plant a bunch more. 🙂

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

