Funny Little Towns

Whenever I watched movies of people who lived in small towns, I always thought that the people and the general attitudes were a bit over the top. Growing up in a city setting, I thought there was no way that people were that genuinely friendly and actually drove around waving at eachother.
“Hey Bill! How’s that new fence comin’ along?”
Or…
“Oh, you moved into the ol’ McGillis place!”

20140408-125903.jpg

It turns out that people out in the middle of nowhere really do say those things. Now they say those things to me. And better yet, I am really enjoying it all.

Our neighbors here have been stopping by periodically to say ‘hi’ and introduce themselves. Apparently our neighbors have been watching our progress on fences and general animal shenanigans because it seems like someone stops every other day to see what’s new. We are also the very first house on our tiny private road, so it is easy for folks to drive by slow and get the scoop. I don’t mind. I actually find it all quite amusing.

20140408-125934.jpg

The other day we had a neighbor drive up and introduce himself while we were out building the milking stanchion. He said that he hadn’t been home in a few days and when he pulled around the corner and saw our new goats out playing, his “heart leapt with joy”.

I mean, who says that? Awesome neighbors do. I think we got a little too used to hiding our rabbits and chickens in our old neighborhood. We just aren’t used to people being happy to see goats in a front yard. Happy people have become too foreign to the bigger towns and cities. Perhaps it is living in the middle of nowhere that makes people happier.

Either way, this little town has good vibes and good people.

9 thoughts on “Funny Little Towns

  1. So happy for you guys! yes they do say that stuff and I always wondered when will it become our place to the locals. I think there is some kind of rule of how long you have to live there. lol I moved into a place once and the neighbor at the alfalfa farm brought me the best cinnamon rolls and welcome card I had ever had! the best part about places like that is uf you fall on hard times people lend a hand to each other!

  2. I live in the suburbs of Seattle (Sammamish Plateau). It’s close to farms (well, at least farm-looking). I have good neighbors, in general the area and people are pleasant, but it would be nice to experience that neighborhood quality you describe. Mine may complain of a goat in the front yard, so the goat lives in my mind.

  3. I realised the other day whilst I was “down the street” as my grandparents used to say, that I was a country person now. I stood in in the door of the newsagency and chatted with a friend, I said a brief hello to someone leaving the post office as I was entering it and I too look at the houses and properties around our town to see what progress and changes have happened. Our next door neighbour and I shout hello over the fence when we hear each other out and about and he pops in on occasion, usually coming to the side/back gate and calling “yoo-hoo” before opening the gate and coming in.
    Our small town has been supportive in our quest for self sufficiency and our net and tidy house neighbours across the street shrug at our messy front garden and the piles of necessary stuff lying around (work in progress) and say that a neat garden took them years. They laugh at the veggie hugels growing there and a conversation over the fence netted them a handful of strawberries. 🙂 Our bleating sheep and goats have met with shrugs and although the crowing rooster meets much less approval they understand and tolerate him (although since there is another localish rooster I’m not sure how much longer we will tolerate his 5am crowing). No way known this would have been tolerated in our old house in the inner ‘burbs of Melbourne but Ballan has proven a real haven for us. 🙂
    And the trailer load of fresh and well rotted pond week with a huge bag of fresh manure in the middle to fertilise the gardens hasn’t met anybad press as yet either. 😉

  4. Sarah,
    I’m so glad you and your family are getting to experience living in that environment. I grew up in one and have finally moved back to another. Last spring, our homestead neighbors came and told us that there was a mountain lion on the loose so we could double guard the goats especially while the kids were out milking them. These folks didn’t know us from adam, but introduced themselves after saying how much they liked that we had milk goats, and our kids & that we should sell our products by putting an ad on the community board down at the mail box station (5 miles from our house). Everyone we meet gives us a hug and says they love us!

  5. I lived in an area like that. I loved it. I still live here but we have become an exsuburban area for Washington, DC. Not so friendly or tolerant. : (

  6. I’ve lived in a small town for over 40 years. Trips to the only post office in town sometimes take a while because of visiting with so many people.
    On our morning walk we wave to the passing cars as a sort of “Thanks for not running over us and ‘Hi’). I have made it my personal committment to get people to wave back. We always notice newcomers to that section of road. At first they look at you like “Whaaaat?” After three or four weeks of me waving to them, they wear down and start waving back and then they’re smiling.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

