Breeding Bunnies

I try to schedule my dates for rabbit breeding and births here at the Frühlingskabine, but often times, the rabbits miss the memo. They usually have a mind if their own. That is why I call them “estimated” dates. I create the opportunity and the rabbits either do or do not cooperate.

This last month, the rabbits have not cooperated. But now that I have them in a fairly controlled environment, I am going to attempt to breed them year-round. Hopefully I can get some sort of air conditioner set up for them in the next month or so. That way both the rabbits and the sprouted barley fodder can stay below 75*F all summer. What would be even more ideal is if I could run the garage air conditioner on solar power.

Any rabbits sold this year will be funding my little solar powered AC project. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Breeding Bunnies

  1. Have you done any research on solar powered air conditioners? I’d be interested to know what you find out. I’ve been thinking along the same lines for my rabbit shed.

  2. What is your humidity like there? If it isn’t too high you could do evaporative cooling. Running a water pump and fan on solar would be a lot easier than A/C.

  3. Have you considered a doe colony now that you have more space? A few French angora breeders do it, including Kate Sawyer. She has good results. I am able to let many of my does outside together loose with no ill effects, though I do have one alpha female who tolerates no one. I would do it if I had the space. I do have a large hutch housing 3 females right now, and they seem very happy. Happily mischievous.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

