Getting Back Into Routines

Ah, I think we are pretty well settled in. Nothing says so more than a trip around the yard on a little pink Vespa. Maybe not to us, but that is the definition of “officially moved in” to a four year old.

20140329-150337.jpg

20140329-150410.jpg

The chickens are also happy to be out and about in the sunshine. I haven’t fed them a single crumble, pellet, or fodder sprout since we moved in. Plump hen legs waddle around the yard, scratching and pecking, finding seeds and bugs and fresh grass to snack on. It’s like an all day buffet out there! I don’t think I will have to start growing fodder for them until either summer heat kills all the fresh grass or when autumn growth comes to an end.

20140329-150506.jpg

20140329-150514.jpg

My trusty PVC rabbit cage racks made it through the move and have been set up. All the rabbits are living comfortably in the garage now– quite the lush life compared to the outdoor shed most of them grew up in. We used some wire to tie the tops of the PVC racks to the rafters in the garage keeping the racks better stabilized. Even a freight train couldn’t knock those suckers down now.

20140329-150550.jpg

I have finally started my sprouted barley fodder system back up. The fodder rack looks so small housed in a big two-car garage; almost out of place. It is so nice to reintegrate the routine of growing fodder (and saving money) into my daily chores. I may need to buy some sort of heater plugged into thermometer that can automatically turn on and off when the temperature in the garage dips below the ideal 63*F. It is still freezing here nightly and I don’t want my fodder growth to be held back by temperatures too cool for its liking.

We are getting fancy up in here!

8 thoughts on “Getting Back Into Routines

  1. I know my fodder growth stunted its growth a bit at 62 degrees. It had to grow another day longer. I don’t heat my whole house especially not my kitchen during the winter months. Seems kind of strange to heat a room that gets sweltering when you bake breads.

  2. Hi! Can you share what type of heater you are getting. I do fodder too, but I was wondering that if I have to heat the room, the cost to grow my fodder will increase a lot. I wonder if its cheaper to pay to heat a room(to grow fodder) than paying for pellets. Thanks!!

  3. Don’t forget that in Mtn Ranch, like BarXX has the “big kitty”o(either mtn lion or bobcat) and coyotes! So watch out for your chickens. We lost 12 chickens last year to coyote momma who picked them off for her kids dinner! Just don’t forget!

  4. Nice rabbitry set-up. I just started my rabbitry and am learning it’s not cheap. Do you plan to have more than six cages now that you have more space? Do you plan on adding other breeds of Angora? I ask because I have been enjoying the information on your Rabbitry page and frequent this blog often since I am new to breeding. Is the information you provide applicable to Giant Angoras and Satins? As far as color genetics? Thanks.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

