Ze Goat Shed a la Milk

Sometimes I pretend I speak fluent French. Come on… you do it too. Actually, I failed French in high school. Actually, I speak much better Hillbilly than French.

We are slowly pulling together our new house and in doing so, I am getting closer and closer to being able to justify starting the garden. But before all that happens, we need to prepare for the goats. My “goat doe on hold” is due to give birth sometime at the end of the week and I should be bringing her home along with her kid soon after.

20140318-123814.jpg

That’s where the goat shed comes in. In just over a week, I will have a goat in milk and her goat kid which will need housing and fencing. I have the fencing ready to go up now, but their planned pen area is going to need some adjusting. It turns out that where I originally wanted to put the fence is solid rock about three inches down. Erg. So I will need to see where I can put stakes in and reevaluate the space. Otherwise, I have the posts, the electric wire fencing, the solar charger with battery, and the wire connectors for the T posts.

20140318-123848.jpg

20140318-123856.jpg

The existing shed will be used for milking and as a gateway to the goat yard. I just need to cut a door into the back– which is much easier than it sounds.

Now I need some sort of temporary shelter for two Nubian goats. We have a constant breeze here, and sometimes even a heavy wind, so it will need to be a decent shelter. Shade and wind will be my primary concerns, but it would also be nice if it closed up for the night. There seem to be quite a few coyotes, foxes, and who knows what else, in the yard constantly. We are thinking that some sort of triangle shape will be the least expensive to make and will also be a sturdy structure.

We shall see!

11 thoughts on “Ze Goat Shed a la Milk

  1. Pallets make great temporary shelters as well as gates. I built our goat shed for about 40 and most of that was screw cost and hinges. My gate closes the yard in the morning and the shed at night. ITs heavy and nothing gets in or out. bedrock is a pain. I live in a valley luckily and get to have nice loose soil which doesnt support t-posts either.

  2. Can you not make a lean to against the little goat house surrounded by your fencing on the side that hopefully isn’t as rocky? That way you only need 2 whole sides and a half side for the front so they can be in out of the wind. If you want to email me privately so I can email you pictures of our goats’ setup I would be glad to…

  3. Well, it looks like your on your way to goats milk. That is so WOW. Can’t wait to see the pic’s on that. I’m still in the dream stage of it. But my cows are doing fine. Reba and Sara-lu are going to the fair this week. Stormy and Patti will stay home. Stormy is not going to be happy. Not weaned yet. So I’ll be at the fair milking Reba to bring home the milk for him . I don’t wean till 10 month. They stay healthy that way. At least it works for me. Congrats on your new goats. Mare

  4. hey sarah, when I needed a welping shed for my pigs, we too, 4 pallets (free from Senders or the like) and screwed them together. Then put a roof on it. do it with 4 pallets, 1 on each end and 2 at the back. Goats are small enough to walk in and out and they seem to like it! I have adapted it for my sheep!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

