Packing Up The Farm

Well folks, I think I can now say that we are moving. Our loan and the house have officially been approved by the VA (pending a stack of tedious paperwork) and the finish line is in sight. Phew! We can all sigh a big “phew!” at this point. Geez… we have only been in house-purgatory since Thanksgiving

So now comes the frustrating and exhausting part, packing. Not just packing up a house and a small child, but packing up an entire micro-farm. We’re talkin’: dozens of rabbits, rabbit cages, the beehives, the honey equipment, a flock of chickens, that giant chicken coop (somehow), rolls of wire from the garden, mushroom logs (why, oh why?), pallets, firewood, and possibly the 8×8′ shed –which we will need to take apart first.

That, my friends, is a lot of stuff.

20140215-223418.jpg

I am looking forward to the fresh start with the freedom and space to expand. I was just telling someone today that we are going from 1/4 acre to 4 1/2 acres. I have so many plans and so many ideas that this expansion is going to keep me busy for some years to come. Especially so if I continue to stack and cram and tuck things into every nook and cranny I’ve got. I love that we have made so much work in such a small space because now I have no doubt that we can accomplish phenomenal things in 18 times the space.

Besides packing and moving, all three of us are insanely excited about getting our first goats. Goats! Goats were part of my vision in one of the first posts I ever made on this website, so needless to say, we are more than enthusiastic about being able to meet that goal. It will be that next crucial step to becoming healthier and more self-reliant.

Also in ignoring my need to pack up the whole farm, my garden plans are starting to come to life. The space in which we will have to start a garden is unreal. Our future garden is as big as the entire lot we currently rent, house and all! My plan to create a permaculture oasis is coming to life and the prospect of hundreds of varieties of plants growing in my front yard is unbearably exciting. At first I thought that the concept of farming using permaculture would be limiting, but over the last six months or so I have come to realize that it is liberating. I don’t want to plant in “garden beds” anymore or line my carrots up in rows. I want to see the wild and free nature of Mother Nature!

20140215-223503.jpg

In the meantime, the three of us have a lot to do to prepare for this move. But with enough forethought and good packing, the actual moving part won’t last any longer than a weekend. Perhaps even by the end of the month! Just keep those digits of yours crossed that the keys make it into our hands by the end of the week and that no more obstacles interrupt our journey.

Full steam ahead!

24 thoughts on “Packing Up The Farm

  1. Congrats.
    Now the fun begins. After the move. It will be wooooooork, and more work, but this is where the fun is. Wish I were there to help.

    Dusty

  2. Sarah, For the chicken coop and shed I suggest a flat bed tow truck. Place the chickens and rabbits in pet carriers while the actual moving of their home takes place. No, they do not move in their house. Use strapping to maintain their structure while moving. Or dismantle it all and rebuild it. Bag the screws and tape it securely to the lumber so they don’t get misplaced. The bee hives I have no idea short of crating them with the bees inside. Smoke ’em good first.
    Get what you have situated before you get the goats…Just saying. You have enough to do getting yourself and the animals you do have straighetned out.

  3. Congrats!! I am so excited for your family. Can’t wait to see what the next year holds for your not-so-micro (anymore) micro-farm! 🙂

  4. If you have not discovered Geoff Lawton and his ideas and videos on permaculture I think it would be worth your time. I won’t post the URL here but you can google his name.

    He sells his services as a consultant but it rarely comes out in his site or videos. He has one video directed to 5 acre pieces. Congrats on your move.

  5. Sarah,
    My wife and I have been enjoying Kefir since your articles talked us into it last year…thank you. We also have never followed a blog before, and have been enjoying yours. Glad you are moving into a place which will allow you to expand your dreams! Am familiar with your area of the California Gold Country, grew up wanting to be a park ranger at Big Trees, HA! Anyway, am really glad you are adding dairy goats to your family. My favorite is the Nigerian Dwarf Dairy Goat. I believe they would be a great goat for you for many reasons. Look for a few reasons on our site. I you ever want to talk goats, please contact us. Keep up the great work! Andrew
    Quakingaspen-ranch.com

    • Ha! I really love kefir, but I have been on a kombucha kick lately. Right now I can only do one ferment/culture at a time because our kitchen is the size of a dog crate. But once we move, I will have room for all the ferments and cultures I can handle. I’m glad to hear yours is going well!
      My friend has Nigerian Dwarves and I think they are adorable. Too adorable. 🙂 They were on my short list of breeds to acquire.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

