Old School Soap Results!

I think I did pretty darn well for my first batch of soap from scratch. I didn’t burn myself, I didn’t spill lye on my clothes, I kept it away from the kid and the dog, I pre-drilled holes on my homemade mold box and didn’t split the wood, and the soap even set up like it was supposed to! Taking the time to pre-drill holes while building was probably my biggest accomplishment during this whole project.

I mean really guys– I wish you knew how accident prone I am. I once sliced through my fingertip with a wood burner. A few years ago I attached my hand to a wall via nail gun. I can’t even count how many times I have burned myself on the oven… and waffle iron… and cook pan. I am so notorious for hurting myself that last year, my mother bought me elbow-length oven mitts. It’s bad.

Aaaaanyway. The soap looks and smells awesome! The wooden loaf mold I made worked like a charm. Since I lined it with parchment paper, the soap slipped right out without so much as a thought. I sliced the loaf up into about 12 generous bars (and cut off the sad looking parts) and set them up in an open box to cure over the next four weeks. Some of the bars are a little misshapen so I am thinking of felting them and then giving them as holiday gifts. I’d hate to sell my first batch just because I am so inexperienced. I’d like to use this same recipe again and make a nicer looking soap. Then I will sell some of my Old School Soap with Frühlingskabine honey in our online Etsy shop.

Excuse my dark indoor photo…
20131111-191451.jpg

Excuse my sickly man voice… (I have a cold.)

14 thoughts on “Old School Soap Results!

  1. Careful the hobby is addictive!! I learned how to make hot process soap this past summer and have been teaching myself how to do cold process soap!! It’s great!!

      • In hot process you add heat to the soap after trace. In adding heat you force the soap to fully saponify before you put it in the mold. That way as soon as the soap has cooled it is safe to use. No need to wait for weeks. You can use a slow cooker to add the heat (you mix everything up in the slow cooker) but only for smaller batches. You can also make do it on your stovetop using a double boiler type set up. You can make a lot more at one time on the stove.
        Shelia is very right in that soaping becomes very addictive.

  2. I love making soap & Shelia is right: it is addictive! I just started making soap a few months ago. My favorite right now to make/use is goat’s milk soap. With honey and ground oatmeal, it is nothing short of luxury. I don’t use any scents (too many sensitivities in our fam) but homemade soap smells clean and leaves no residue, so we don’t miss scent. BTW, since I have started using homemade soap my complextion is much better. I used to, occassionally, take an alcohol filled cotton ball and run it over my face to see what my old soap left behind- it was always orange with makeup. Recently I gave it a go after washing with my homemade stuff for the past few months, and was SHOCKED that there was nothing on the cotton ball. Crazy, but true.
    You did a great job on your first batch! Look forward to following your soaping adventures!

  3. Are you making soap because your a dirty girl? (wink wink) Naming my goat milk soap line “Dirty Girl natural soap co.” wanna go in business together we can name it Dirty Girls natural soap co. lol Did you use goats milk in it? Makes AMAZING soap! you just use milk in place of the water. Would you be interested in having a soap making day here at my house!?

      • I love making soap too! I’ve made milk soaps in the past. You add the lye to frozen milk cubes to keep the temps down and you don’t heat the oils as hot before combining oils and lye mix, like maybe 90 degrees? It’s been a year though so I forget. You also let it set up in the fridge in the molds so they don’t overheat during saponification. They’re a little trickier than other CP soap but fun to play with. My first batch te milk got too hot and it smelled a little odd but it was still nice to use and the smell faded. You’re giving me the itch to whip up another batch of soap, lol! It’s soooo much fun, isn’t it? I don’t think we’ve bought soap in almost a year and a half now come to think of it!

      • So when you’re making a milk-based soap, how do you keep the lye from clumping and sticking to the bottom? A year and a half with out buying soap is pretty impressive! I have to admit, making soap is a lot more fun than I thought it would be and not a very expensive hobby if you find oils and fats on sale.

  4. As soon as the lye hits the slightly damp milk ice cubes it reacts like it does to moisture and gets hot which melts the cubes fairly quickly. But the milk being so cold keeps it from getting near as hot as it does with plain water. You know, now that I think of it, I remember the last time I made goats milk soap I read about a different method and you used canned goats milk and instead of mixing the canned milk half and half with water before starting you put the lye in the water first (which makes it double strength so you have to be careful with it) then you let that cool and added it to the fats like you would regularly do with cold process and then you add the milk half of the liquids but I can’t remember if you added the milk before or at trace, it’s been a year, lol!!! Gah… my memory sucks sometimes! Trying to remember which website I found the instructions on. But the soap I did with that method stayed whiter and didn’t scorch the milk and make it smell weird. I still cured it in the fridge for the first 24hrs though before demolding it.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

