Grow Something That You Love

Too much time is spent in our society doing things that bring us nothing more than despair, loathing, hatred, fear, and boredom. We are a culture of dead-end jobs, abusive relationships, and self-pity. It’s enough to make you seek seclusion and relief elsewhere. And many of us do. We, the wannabe farmers and homesteaders of the world, find our Nirvana in the garden. Our Summerland is with our animal friends. Our Heaven is within the soil.

20130727-152853.jpg

Our pure bliss can be found outside with nature so why not utilize that love for the divine incarnate to make ourselves happy? Let’s find that perfection. Grow something that you love! It seems easy enough, and yet I see so many people struggling with it.

Stop trying to grow veggies and raise animals that don’t make you happy. Just because Angora rabbits have become my ideal livestock, doesn’t mean that they will give you cause to rejoice. It doesn’t just come down to whether you are physically capable of raising or growing a certain animal or crop; it is more about your choices behind raising or growing that animal or crop. Sure, finding a niche in the market is important to make sales. I’ll give ya that one. But is that niche product going to bring happiness and joy and love to your daily life?

20130710-151529.jpg

Be greedy. Think of yourself and your own merriment. Do alpacas just steal your heart? Are they calm and forgiving when you are near them? Do they bring peace to your soul? If they do not, then why would you put yourself through the heartache and tribulations of raising a whole herd simply to raise a fiber in demand? To me, such a thing is not a trade-off worth my time and is certainly not worth the pleasure and contentment of my family. We live to raise “keepers” around here.

In the past few years, we have learned that broccoli, cauliflower, and Brussels sprouts are not worth our time and energy. We spent two long winters and two short spring seasons coming to the realization that some Brassicas lead to wasted hours of fretting, wishing, and squandered resources that could have been used to help other aspects of our farm flourish. Why? Because a neighbor had good luck with these specific crops. We thought that we should be successful with them too! Why should that be the case? We are all different people. We are all different farmers. We all have different tolerances and methods. In fact, there’s no way we can be the same kind of successful with the same crops and animals. Why should we be?

photo 2

As humans, as Americans, as farmers; we need to acknowledge that we each have our own unique password to joviality in this world. Happiness is painted on my face by raising French Angora rabbits and growing pumpkins. I am no master at either, but they make me the most gleeful.

What are you growing that you love?

13 thoughts on “Grow Something That You Love

  1. Very eloquent and true! When you first begin farming, you try to grow anything and everything. I love growing kale and collards. An elderly neighbor commented on how much he loves collards, but he doesn’t like to grow them. But he does like to grow sweet potatoes, so he trades them for collards. Smart man! I love honey but am allergic to bees. I trade meat rabbits or quail for my neighbor’s honey. Bartering is key to my being free to do what I do best and enjoy most!

  2. So well put! Crazy ironic but… We spent this past weekend clearing out a bunch of ‘stuff’ from in & our around our place so we could make room to do more of what we love. I am not a collector or hoarder by any stretch but we still had stuff. Went through closets, looked under beds, cleaned rooms, decluttered the basement and still are working on a few small areas (like: Does anyone need this many Christmas decorations?? no.) 🙂 Yep, we ‘edited ruthlessly’ (as some say)- for the very reasons you write: so we can do what we love & simplify. Now my husband and sons finally have room to set up their new HO train set that has been in the box for 3+ yrs and I can now easily get to my sewing and soapmaking supplies.This is will come in handy over the winter. Bonus: the house feels great!
    BTW- I am with you on the cauliflower, broccoli situation… I will stick to cabbage from now on. After several yrs & much frustration, looks like I will be heading to the farmers market for these. Thank you for your blog!

  3. Finally another person who understands!!! No one in my family and very few of my friends understand! They say “why do you waste your time and money doing that” I try and try to make them understand but no one has ever gotten it!! I love my chickens,geese,ducks and rabbits! They take up huge amounts of time and not a little in feed bills but I love them and feel calm around them. This summer was the first time I actually got my herbs to grow and even grew some giant sun flowers but I still go back to my animals for peace and love!!

  4. Great writing from all of ya!!!!! I myself try to explain what Heaven on earth I have right here in my own back yard. Waking up to see what beauty I have. No store or money can buy. It’s not very big but it’s enough. I have my 3 cows for beef, chickens for eggs, a duck , a garden for veggies, grape vine for jam, Try to make everything from basic. But I find my time well spent. Nothing that a mall can do for me take our hard working money from us. Not that it’s wrong. Just not for me. My city friends think I’m crazy! Me I’m happy to wakeup with our health and my funny farm being my Heaven!!!!!!

  5. oh I resonated with this post so much!
    I feel ya on the the brassicas but I love the taste so much I will stubbornly try again.
    I don’t feel the same way about corn. I feel like that is a wasted space, as much as I love the taste of corn on the cob, I end up pooping it out whole after months of growing in a nutrient sucking soil.
    This is my first time visiting your blog, and it definitely won’t be the last! I’m glad I found you on the homestead barn hop 🙂

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

