A Kumquaty Afternoon

Phew! I just spent the last two hours preparing and canning 13 half-pints of Kumquat Curd. Only 12 half-pints would fit in the pressure canner, so the last jar is in the refrigerator waiting to be consumed. It won’t last a week in this house… I’m eyeballing it already.

20130804-110155.jpg

If you want to can some of your own homemade Kumquat Curd (can you say awesome holiday gift?), check out the recipe. Be sure to leave 1/2″ headspace, and then using your pressure canner, can for 10 minutes at 10 pounds of pressure (add 5 pounds of pressure if you are canning above 1,000 feet). Easy peasy!

As long as we only eat 1 half-pint jar (8 ounces) per month, we will have plenty to last until next summer.

2 thoughts on “A Kumquaty Afternoon

  1. That sounds great! I’ll have to try it, as soon as I get my canner. Hubby order me one finally and when I received it the gauge was off, called the company and sending me a new one. This is my first time using a pressure canner. Can’t wait for the part to get here. Do you use your canner a lot and do you use it for the water bath canning as well. Mare p.s. been watching a lot of you tube on it.

    • I have been using my pressure canner at least 3 times a week. It is certainly getting some use around here. 😉 I have a glass-top stove which cannot support the weight of a water bath canner, so I can only use my flat-bottomed pressure canner to can things. So far so good though.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

