We Love Our Fodder

After transitioning all our animals to a sprouted fodder-based diet, we are seeing great change in their health. The French Angoras have softer, fuller coats and larger litters of kits as well as acting more active and full of spirit. Our chickens are even laying eggs with darker orange yolks with much more flavor than before. (And our feed bill has been cut by two-thirds!) No complaints around here about the fodder… from us or the animals. Dandelion’s most recent litter is even starting to nibble on her fresh barley fodder!

20130520-150445.jpg

20130520-150453.jpg

20130520-150458.jpg

20130520-150505.jpg

16 thoughts on “We Love Our Fodder

  1. I just think this is so wonderful. I hope we’ll try it before long. Raising chicks right now and have milk goats, although, I think soon they will have some pasture! My DH bought fencing. 🙂

  2. I want to try sprouting fodder for my rabbits but barley is very expensive in NC because it can’t be grown here. My other options are wheat and oats. Which is better? I’ve heard some say that oat hulls can cause digestive problems for rabbits. Would the sprouting process soften the hulls to be more digestible? Any advice you can give would be appreciated.

    • Definitely wheat.

      Wheat is actually more expensive than barley here… so it all comes down to what is going to work for you in the long run. Barley and wheat are always going to be your top choices because oats have more problems with mold. Simply soaking the oats though would make the hulls softer. I’ve never heard about oat hulls being hard to digest, but it’s easy enough just to soak and sprout to soften it up.

  3. I agree to everything you said. I started barley fodder after reading your post in a Mother Earth News email. My chickens love it, both the hens, meat birds & turkeys. The rabbits wait for me to bring it each morning & evening. I wasn’t too sure about feeding it to the baby bunnies, they love it, but I am not giving them as much. The goats love it too! Now, i just need to increase my tray size & operation so I can feed it to pigs too! Your video made it look so simple to start doing, I’m so glad I did!! Thank you. Thank you!

    • Oh my goodness, I’m flattered. Thank YOU for reading. It is still weird to me that people are actually interested in what I have to say. So thank you for your kind words.

      I have a lot of people asking about feeding sprouted fodder to goats, if you could, please share how you feed yours goats? I’m sure many people would be interested.

  4. Oh my goodness the babies are so cute! After reading your blog, I’ve decided that angora rabbits will be our first livestock when we move out of the apartment. You really make it look simple, and that they are a great multi-purpose animal to have. I don’t suppose you know of any good breeders in colorado?

  5. You inspired me to sprout some wheat fodder for my rabbits a few weeks ago. I gave them a little and they loved it…I sprouted too much at once though, and then I got a mold problem…discouraging, but I am going to try again, and get serious about it this time, (better drainage and air flow as well a better crop rotation.) I really appreciate all of the research you have put into this, it has been really helpful. Thanks a million!!

      • What kind of scales do you use to weigh your rabbits? I am not sure how much mine weigh, as I have never actually weighed them. I remember my grandma having an old scale that was originally used for babies..if I could find something like that I would be in business. I am going to some thrift stores today, so I will start searching..but I just wondered what kind of scales you were using? (my kitchen scales only go up to five pounds..)

      • I would love to find one of those old baby scales at a garage sale or something! But I actually use a digital kitchen scale. I think it was $15 at (the dreaded) Walmart. It has a flat glass top on which I put a thin plastic basket. Once I put the basket on, I clear the scale back to zero so that it isn’t weighing the basket itself. The rabbits sit pretty well in it.

        There are a few different types of scales I was looking at on Amazon. Like a hook scale that you can hook a basket with handles on to. Or one of those bowl-type scales like they have at markets and grocery stores. Either way, there are some real affordable scales out there that you make make work.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

