Foto Frenzy

Today I officially got the Herb & ‘Shroom Garden up and running. In other words, I finally stacked (some of) the shiitake mushroom logs and planted some herbs (two different kinds of basil, cilantro, and parsley). I don’t know how impressive that is, but I assure you, it’s getting there.

When I mentioned the name of my new side yard garden to my mother, she gave me a very disapproving look. Geez Mom, it’s not like I’m growing marijuana and psychedelic mushrooms out here… they’re just shiitake logs and basil! Sometimes we all just need a laugh and to not take ourselves so seriously. Anyone who agrees with me can come hangout in my Herb & ‘Shroom Garden any time. 😉

20130506-165915.jpg
herbs & ‘shrooms

20130506-170008.jpg
peas of some sort

20130506-170605.jpg
Detroit red beets

20130506-170639.jpg
contender bush beans

20130506-170705.jpg
juicy tomatoes

20130506-170728.jpg
black seed Simpson lettuce

20130506-170755.jpg
potatoes

20130506-170820.jpg
bulb onions… or as Cami says, “nun-yuns”

20130506-170916.jpg
mammoth red rock cabbage

6 thoughts on “Foto Frenzy

  1. Oh everything looks wonderful! I’m jealous since I’m still waiting on ND weather to stay warm. I did get impatient and planted potatoes, strawberries, and asparagus. My rhubarb and horseradish is just starting to come up.I have a good few days of removing sod and digging my plot still until I can direct sow but I so can’t wait!

  2. Really excited for you! And just a smidge jealous too. 🙂 I love the garden name. We are having crazy weather for Ga right now. Someone lied to May and told her she was supposed to be cold…It should be in the 80’s by now! And rain! The garden is a sopping mess. All I have planted is the corn.(Well, I did put onions in a raised bed…) Normally have everything in the ground in March! Crazy weather for the bees too! We had a couple of weeks in the 70’s & 80’s..then last week in the 50’s. Woohoo! life on the farm!

    • Oh man, I feel your pain! May is always a wildcard for us. Just a few years ago we had snow during the first week of June! Crazyness. I am definitely jealous of your corn, but not the humidity I’m sure you get in Georgia during the summer. I would most certainly die…. lol.

  3. Everything looks great! I am a little behind, but every day that you put something out is a day closer to being finished, right?

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

