Colorful Babies

After a weekend of farm-sitting/baby-sitting, I came home to my own animals and family. It is sooooo nice to be home. But the best thing by far, was that Trevor got a taste of what my job as “homesteader” entails. He not only had to feed and water the animals and pull weeds in the garden, but he also had to keep the fodder system going. Trevor had to soak, water, cut, weigh, and feed the barley fodder to the rabbits and chickens. Muwahahahahaa! Now he knows.

In any case, I had to check on Dandelion’s babies to see if I could better tell what colors we have in this batch. There is really only one kit that I am unsure on and it is a toss up between lilac tortoiseshell or blue tortoiseshell. The black tortoiseshell is PERFECTLY marked… like… wow! And two of the fawns are very “cleanly” marked with a strong orange/red color (aka: rufus modifiers).

I am estimating: 1 black tortoiseshell, 4 fawns (2 of which are a beautiful bright orange/red), 2 ruby-eyed whites, 1 blue tortoiseshell, and 1 lilac tortoiseshell (could also be a second blue tort.)

20130505-182507.jpg

20130505-182521.jpg

20130505-182535.jpg

20130505-182548.jpg

10 thoughts on “Colorful Babies

  1. I BET YOUR GLAD TO BE HOME!!!! I WATCHED THOSE KIDS AND THAT FARM BEFORE TOO! I KEEP TELLING MYSELF I WILL NEVER DO IT AGAIN!!!! YET EVERYDAY I WAKE UP AND DO IT ALLLL OVER AGAIN! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING IT POSSIBLE FOR MY HUSBAND AND I TO GET AWAY TOGETHER WITHOUT THE KIDS! IT HAD BEEN A VERY LONG TIME!
    IT WAS NICE TO ACTUALLY LET GO OF THE STRESSS AND RESPONSIBILITIES AND LAUGH TOGETHER AGAIN!

    • No problem! Everything I do on a daily basis was quite appreciated when I got home. 🙂 I’m glad you were able to enjoy yourselves.

      By the way, I think you will like one of these “orange fawns” better than the other lighter one… he is has more grey on him than the new kits. Two of these new kits are so much more red! Already! And they will be ready to leave soon enough. I think one of these new orange fawn kits would be a better choice as far as color.

    • The darkest kit is a black tortoiseshell… cute, right? My doe, Blackberry, is also a black tortoiseshell.

      I couldn’t get a good picture of the kit I am unsure of, but I am leaning towards lilac tortoiseshell. (The two photos of me holding a kit are both orange fawn colored.) I will try to get some good pictures of the blue tort. kit and the possibly lilac tort. kit for comparison.

  2. They are sooooo cute! My first litter of angora’s were born on May 1, and talk about a rainbow of colors! I’m new to all of this and am confused about the color names. Not sure what mine are because I keep getting different information from everywhere or everyone I talk to. Any chance you could help me out if I send you some pics? I know you are terribly busy, but if you had the time, I would really appreciate it! Thanks.

    • Yes! Of course Peggy, send me the pictures (fmicrofarm@gmail.com) and I will do my best to decipher the colors for you. A lot of the conflicting color information you are finding may be because different rabbit breeds call the same color by different names. So while I may call a kit “fawn”, that same color is also known as “orange” or “sandy”. It’s pretty confusing.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

