Robins and Rabbits

The robins are all over the yard lately and I think I know why. Animals large and small are having babies, kits, and chicks, and the robins are no exception. I spied this nest yesterday right outside our living room window…

20130430-202218.jpg

In related news, Dandelion kindled her litter of nine healthy kits last night. When I checked on them this evening, it looked as if half of the kits had been fed a little so hopefully Dandelion doesn’t run into the same problems with milk production that she had last time. I fed her a cup of rolled oats to help promote lactation. Fingers crossed folks!

This is the largest litter Dandelion has ever had so I have high hopes for these babies. Once this litter is weaned in about 6-7 weeks, Dandelion will be making her way to a “wool spinner” home in the Bay Area. It will be sad to see her go, but we must make room in our herd for the new breeding lines planned for this autumn. So this very well may be the last litter of kits she has… I think she will enjoy her retirement though. Blackberry will carry on for her here at the Frühlingskabine, but until then, let’s enjoy the last babies until autumn rolls around!

20130430-203005.jpg

20130430-203022.jpg

20130430-203032.jpg

6 thoughts on “Robins and Rabbits

  1. Awwww…. can I kiss ’em?!?!?!? So cute! Yikes, I never thought fodder could increase litter size, that could be scary, lol!!!! What colors do you think you got? Looks like some light colored ones!

    • Apparently the fodder DOES increase litter size… yikes!

      Two of them are pretty dark like maybe black tortoiseshells? A couple are definitely fawns (love that orange color), there may be some lilac tortoiseshells in there, and as always– some ruby-eyed whites. I’m so glad I got one more litter from her. She has the prettiest colors.

      • Sounds like a fun color mix! Can’t wait to see them grow up. Just started fodder a week ago, my english angora doe had her (our, lol) first litter 7 weeks ago and she had EIGHT!!!! I can’t imagine how many she might have on fodder, lol! I think I would worry most about if they were all getting a chance to eat. Lol, I guess I don’t need to worry about that until next breeding season though 😀 (and I’m sure by then I’ll have it all figured out 😉 )

      • Wow… Eight is extremely good for English angoras. Really, even five or six is good. You’re right– the biggest problem with large litters is making sure everyone gets fed every day. But all you really need to do with a large litter is either foster a few to another doe or split the litter into two, one half for morning feedings and the other half for evening feedings. It all comes down to the doe though.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

