Toblerone Came Home

My little family of three packed up some snacks and piled into the car this morning to pick up our newest French angora herd sire, Toblerone. We drove a fairly short distance of 1.5 hours to the Stockton Fairgrounds where we met up with a fellow rabbit breeder at a rabbit show. Lucky for me, she was selling off her French angora stock to focus on another breed and she planned on attending a show a little more than a hour away. Score!

Trevor had never been to a rabbit show before. After asking a woman who grooming her angoras if she knew of the young woman we were looking for, he realized that friendliness was not too common among the “show” group. Coincidently, that is the very same experience I had when browsing a rabbit show for the first time. What is it with “show” people? Is showing rabbits for sport really that intense? I mean… come on folks. Like Wil Wheaton says, “Don’t be a dick.”

In any case, I purchased my little cutie and we brought him straight home. I evicted the two meat rabbits that were occupying the hutch and now little Toblerone is hangin’ in the bachelor/quarantine hutch.

20130420-201400.jpg

Next month I am doing a little spring cleaning in the Rabbitry. I have decided that my breeders for fall will be: Bunaby Jones (buck), Toblerone (buck), Blackberry (doe), and Philly (doe). Dandelion will be going to a pet home to live out her days as a wooler and Seven of Nine will be become a new Utah breeder’s herd sire. Seven was always meant to be sold, but no one ever picked him up so he just hung around and became a breeder. And Dandelion is better suited to a wool producing life and not so much as a “breeder” –although she has turned out to be a loving mother to her young. Both of my bunnies will be sorely missed, but we need some new blood around here. Bunaby Jones will carry on both Dandelion and Seven’s lines and Toblerone will introduce new Washington/Oregon lines to the herd.

I will need to produce two more does to bring my total breeders to four does and two bucks. This will be accomplished by keeping back a doe from Blackberry (x Toblerone) and a doe from Philly (x Bunaby Jones). But none of those pairings will be ready until this autumn so everyone can focus on wool for now and then be sheared down for our hot August nights. Pun intended.

15 thoughts on “Toblerone Came Home

      • The more I learn about the “show world” the more I want to shy away from it…I hate snobs! My breeder recommended that I show my satin angoras (that I plan on breeding), I guess to add value to them and her breeding program…but when I see what you are doing with your rabbits, Sarah, I am not so sure it matters if they go to shows. I like what you said on one of your youtube videos that you don’t have time for that because you are running a working farm. That is kind of how I feel, as my rabbits are soon to be part of my planned homestead project. I might go ahead and show them, just for the experience, but thanks for the warning of what I might encounter if I put myself there.
        I listened to this blogtalk radio show the other day from a “premier” fiber artist in southern CA ( I won’t name names…) and she was interviewing the most winning english angora breeder in history…you know who that is, I am sure…anyhow, the hero worship was just sickening. Here is the link if you are interested:
        http://www.blogtalkradio.com/namaste-farms/2013/04/12/betty-chu-english-angora-rabbit-expert

      • I really like Namaste Farms, but you’re right– the idolization of this certain breeder is sickening. Especially since this particular person is quite rude, belittling, and arrogant in person (and via email). I understand that not all show people are like this, but then again, acting humble and gracious are the qualities of “good showmanship”.

        I just have no interest in the show world because of this and –honestly– sometimes we all just need to do what is actually important to us and primping my rabbits for a ribbon and to stoke my ego just isn’t on my priority list. If I like working with my rabbit’s wool, that’s good enough for me.

  1. I used to show dogs and the scene is much the same at dog shows. Especially if you run into ‘handlers’, they are very standoffish. It is their living, though, and they don’t have time to ‘break in’ newcomers. Most of that is left to the owner handlers, I imagine the rabbit scene is fairly equivalent. Folks get caught up in winning and it doesn’t matter who gets left in the ‘wake’.

    • I imagine it is. This was someone I would refer to as a career show-er. “Mrs. C” (any of you in the angora world could probably take a guess as to who this was, but I won’t name names) was quite rude and practically bit poor Trevor’s head off. This wasn’t my first encounter with her being absolutely unhelpful either. For someone with a great breeding reputation, she isn’t very nice.

      • Hehehe. All of my show pals are super nice. But I haven’t been to a show. And I think I know who you mean!

  2. I feel badly that you had such a bad experience at the show. My daughter shows in the youth shows here in middle America and we have yet to have a bad experience. Everyone is usually very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, there is always a few that ruin it and give the rest of us a bad name.

    • I’m sure not ALL show people are rude and pushy… I hope I didn’t imply that. It’s nice to hear that youth shows are full of good “showman” that can change future shows.

      My main irritant is when the one or two snobby people are idolized by other show people and breeders. So when you ask one person a question, they automatically refer you to the snobs instead of thinking for themselves. THAT is what really ruins the show world for me.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

