Summertime Farm Tours

20130321-182436.jpg

If you are somewhat local and would like to participate in one of the “Frühlingskabine Farm Tours” that we are hosting this summer, we will be discussing how we feed, care for, breed, and generally raise our rabbits along with the bees, quail, chickens, and garden.

If you have been curious about the nitty-gritty here in our backyard farm or have been dying to ask a billion questions about what we do, consider joining us for an in-depth look at rabbits, bees, chickens, and dirt. Our garden should be beautifully lush by then as well! We are hoping to fire up the cob oven too.

Take a peek at this brief run through of our Rabbitry!

6 thoughts on “Summertime Farm Tours

    • I know! They are getting huge!

      Feeding 4 adult rabbits, 2 full rabbit litters, and six chickens… I have cut my bill by at least 60%. That’s a pretty modest figure of course, but I would even dare to say that I save nearly 75% off my monthly feed costs by growing barley fodder. It is a little more work, but not much. Like I’ve said before, it takes me 20-30 minutes in the morning to care for and feed all the animals and maybe 10-15 minutes in the evening. And that is INCLUDING putting the new soaked seeds in trays, putting dry seeds in the bucket to soak, watering, and also cutting up the fodder into individual servings for everyone.

      This evening I am hoping to do a step-by-step video of my fodder routine because I have had soooo many questions and requests. So keep an eye out!

      • Cool! I’ll definitely keep my eye on here 😀 I just checked I can get wheat for $9 and barley for $11! (50lb bags) My only concern is that we seriously CAN’T do this in the house, we’re too cramped as it is (ok, I would try it, hubby would fuss, lol!) but our summers get quite hot, usually 85-100’s in the day times…. obviously I’d do it in the shade under the tree or something, but what happens to fodder when the ambient heat is much higher? Unfortunately no garage or basement with lower stable temps…

      • I think at high temperatures the fodder will slow its growth. I know that barley does not stand heat as well as wheat, so that may be something to think about. We don’t have a garage either so I am kind of praying that it will still grow if I keep it in the coolest spot on the property… wherever that is.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

