Sprouted Fodder After One Month

After one month of feeding all of the animals here completely on sprouted barley fodder, I have decided that everyone is doing wonderfully and will remain on fodder permanently. I was weighting Seven of Nine and Blackberry every other day to decide if rabbits could maintain their weight with 90% of their diet being barley fodder…. and they can! The other 10% of their diet is composed of orchard grass hay (free-fed),ma mineral salt lick, and a 1/8-1/4 cup of black oil sunflower seeds (B.O.S.S.) daily.

Their weights fluctuated by a couple ounces during the beginning of the transition, but are back to full weight. And with the addition of the black oil sunflower seeds in the past few weeks, I have noticed a great improvement to the texture of their coats. All of the rabbits are looking better than they ever did on commercial pellets! Dandelion’s current litter (Bunaby Jones’ littermates) is the first litter to be raised fully on fodder –they have not eaten or even seen one single pellet. I will compare their 8-week old weight to that of previously pellet raised litters and see where we’re at.

The chickens are also happy on the fodder. They dive in to find all the seeds first. Silly birds. The chickens also have a diet of 90% barley fodder and 10% calcium and grit supplements.

I have also written a more comprehensive article about the DIY sprouted fodder system for Mother Earth News! So please go take a look-see.

106 thoughts on “Sprouted Fodder After One Month

  1. My chickens are still not so sure about eating the fodder. They pick through and eat any left over seed but mostly they leave the “grassy part” to the goats. My goats absolutely love it and will fight over it! The ducklings will be starting on it next week and I am excited to see what they think of it.

  2. I have been going out and pulling grass around the farm as u know I have plenty! and the rabbits love it!!! they prefer that to their hay! I mean if you think about it all hay consists of is dried grass! It has really saved my hay bill! I was a bit nervous at first but thought the cotton tail over here eat it all the time and they look beautiful! and you feed livestock hay when the pasture grass is gone. so I am just using my pasture grass first! 🙂 bought wheat and B.O.S.S. today! ARE YOU SPROUTING THE SEEDS OR JUST GIVING THEM TO THE RABBITS WHOLE? figure I better get in gear on all these ideas I have had! great ideas dont do anybody any good if ya dont implement them! I read a poem in my new book encyclopedia of country living 40th anniversary edition called mamas mama It made me ashamed at what little I get done everyday in comparison to the women of our past!

      • Well that makes it easier! I just mixed my wheat barley and boss in a 5 gallon bucket pouring it between 2 until I thought it was mixed well. I then soaked it last night and started 5 trays today I need to go buy more trays in the morning as I still have a lot left in the bucket! I think next batch willbe a half a bucket full! Worst case I can feed it soaked to the chickens they love it! Been feeding a mama n daddy kill deer that have made there nest of 3 eggs in my yard! Awesome to watch they take turns setting on the eggs so the other can go eat!

  3. Fantastic! I am testing this out our chickens as I type this. I can already see I need many more containers than what I have now to keep a steady supply going!

    You wrote an article for Mother Earth News? Has that been published yet? I subscribe and would love to read it. Just don’t want to miss it. I think think I found your site from your post on backyard chickens forum thread on growing fodder. I haven’t even gotten through that massive thread yet but started growing right away. Started with oats and those were pretty slow and not real good germination, so far the wheat has been the best in terms of speed of growth and germination. I haven’t been able to get barley here yet. I think our amish mill said they could order it but I thought it was strange they didn’t carry it.

    • Yay! Another fodder grower! Let me know how it goes for you with wheat. It seems like everyone has access to either wheat or barley, but seldom both. Where I am located, barley is $14.50/50 lbs. and wheat is almost $30.00/50 lbs. So you just have to go with what is going to work for you in the long run.

      I’m sorry, I should have posted a link to my fodder article on Mother Earth News! I will add the link to the post as well. I recently became a blogger for Mother Earth News online so my articles aren’t in print YET, but are on their website.
      Fodder article: http://www.motherearthnews.com/the-happy-homesteader/sprouted-fodder.aspx

      • Wow! I just paid $7.00 for 50# of wheat at our amish mill, guess that was a good price 🙂 I sprouted the hard white wheat from the health food store before that but wanted to try this now because it is cheaper, I just hope it will sprout as well.

        A blogger for Mother Earth News! Congrats! I love that magazine (the only one I subscribe too). I’ll go check out your link. Thanks!

    • One 50 pound bag lasts me once month feeding six chickens, four adult rabbits, and two litters of rabbit kits. I also supplement their diet with as much hay as hey can eat (for roughage) and a 1/4 cup a day (if they eat that much) black oil sunflower seeds (for fats, oils, and added protein for their wool growth).

  4. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade content from you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my very own website now 😉

  5. What is the magic about the nine day period? Are we looking for growth in height? I am doing this to feed my chickens. Will they be interested in the length of the sprout?

    • At 7-9 days the sprouted fodder has reached its peak in protein and nutrients. Not too long after the 9ish days, your fodder would require outside fertilizer… which really spells the difference in sprouted grain and planted grain or hydroponics.

  6. My children cannot eat gluten and my 4 year old eats whatever she finds. So, I do not want to use barley or wheat. Plus the temperature for raising it is so COLD. We live in Tucson. Right now it’s 77.7 in the house and I am thinking of turning off the coolers because it’s just plain cold. So, the temperature range you mentioned is not an option for us. I have been sprouting mung beans, but at $3 a pound I only do 1 tablespoon a day. Can you recommend any other grains that do not have gluten, sprout in warmer temperatures, and are inexpensive?

    • In reading more of your blog i find people discuss sprouting sunflower seeds. I just googled around and I see lots of info on sprouting black sunflower seeds with soil. Do you do this? How is sprouting sunflowers different from wheat, barley or oats?

      Thank you.

      • I do not sprout the sunflower seeds for my animals because I need the shell to be hard to be used as fiber and roughage– which isn’t viable if the shell is soft from soaking. I feed black oil sunflower seeds to my rabbits to add oils and fats to their diet since they are on 100% sprouted barley fodder. You also cannot sprout sunflower seed of any sort as a whole food source, as you could with barley, wheat, or oats, because sunflower seeds do not contain the required protein to sustain livestock as a whole food source.

        (Thanks for reading by the way and for posting some great questions!)

      • Thank you for the information. I’ve already shared links to your video around in quite a few places. I tried sprouting oats but the results weren’t so great in our temperatures. I guess I’ll keep doing mung beans as an addition to their diet but also keep commercial grain feed available for them. I put some lentils up to soak last night. I’ll see how they do as an addendum to their diet. I’d actually like to do a variety of sprouts figuring they get different nutrients from different foods. I’m kind of surprised beans and such don’t give them enough protein.

      • Beans might be a volume thing as well. I’m sure more barley seeds fit in a cup than beans, therefor barley provides more protein per cup than beans? Makes sense to me anyway. Oats are by far the hardest of the three main fodder grains to sprout. I also found that wheat sprouts well, but thinner and more prone to mold. You just never know until you try it sometimes.

      • Thank you. I will consider barley. I have gotten my daughter to stop eating the chicken seed, most of the time, by telling her she can’t go in the coop if she eats it. Maybe I can figure out how to keep her from eating barley seed. She’s just so sneaky and devious that I can’t trust her. (We have to hide so many things from her–dental floss, the cinnamon, gum, tape, magic markers, etc. I have been able to bring the knives out of the highest cupboard and she is not playing with them.)

      • One more question. I may have missed this. How many chickens do you have and how much grain do you sprout for that number of chickens each day?

      • Right now I have six laying hens and I feed them about 4 pounds of fodder every day. That is about 1 pound of dry barley seed that sprouts into anywhere from 4 to 6 pounds of finished fodder.

        They don’t always completely eat their daily fodder ration, but it’s in there if they need it. They also get whatever scraps/weeds we have in the garden and free-range for an hour a day for bugs. We have a lot of predators around here (stray dogs, stray cats, foxes, bob cats, mountain lions to name a few I’ve seen) so all time outside of their enclosed run needs to be supervised.

    • Oats are the only other option for sprouting fodder for livestock although oats have a similar temperature restriction. If the temperature is too high or to low for the fodder, it simply will not grow.

      Barley, wheat, and oats are the only three grains with the appropriate protein content for livestock. If you are sprouting for yourself, you could use whatever you want, but for livestock it is limited to these three grains from a nutritional aspect. Protein levels are the key here.

      • Hahaha! I hear ya on the rocks, except here it is mostly sand.

        I have seen that video all around the Internet, but you linking it has finally made me watch it. Hilarious! Hilarious and true. Whenever anyone asks me how I got started with all of this, I tell them it all started with chickens. I wanted to raise a couple just for fun. 😉 It’s all too true.

      • Glad you enjoyed. I’ve had chickens for about 20 years and they were never a gateway animal for me (I researched goats and decided they were more work than I was interested in.) However, this sprouting for chickens feels like it is a gateway somewhere.

      • Can you tell me where you got the info on appropriate feed for livestock? I would like to see if there is some way I can combine seeds to grow greens that will meet the nutritional needs of my chickens without gluten (that my kids can’t eat.)
        Thanks

      • A lot of the information I find is just from scrounging around the Internet and looking at research papers done in other countries.

        Aren’t oats gluten free? Possibly sunflower seeds too? (Excuse my ignorance.) Oats are just as high in protein as barley and wheat.

      • Thanks for getting back to me. Oats can have gluten because of the way they are grown or processed. Their best sprouting temps are between 61 and 71. I live in Tucson. I’m lucky to get my house below 80. Have you sprouted sunflower seeds. I looked all over the internet. Only one person didn’t sprout them in dirt and they used salt water.

      • I have not sprouted them by themselves before, but the thing about using salt water sounds weird. I’d look into that more. Well, since all of the more useful grains are out, maybe try sprouting lentils or beans? I don’t know if you could transition rabbits or other livestock wholly to beans or lentils or black sunflower seeds, but at least sprouts could be a large chunk of their diet. Maybe foraging for greens (if we’re only talking small livestock here) would be your best option?

      • I’m currently sprouting 1 tbsp of mung beans a day because mung beans $2.99 a pound. You get a LOT of microgreens from 1 tbsp. It’s still just enough to be a snack. I did get some barley for 28 cents a pound. I’m just not sure because of the gluten. On the other hand, they’re already eating grain mix with lots of wheat and our kids seem okay. Foraging isn’t an option as we live in the middle of the desert. I wouldn’t want our chickens to eat what is meant for the local critters. And I wouldn’t want the local predators to eat our chickens. So, I’ll consider the barley long-term or will look at mixing seeds. Thanks for you thoughts.

      • No problem. We’re all in this together. I think a lot of what you decide to do will depend on availability and cost. I really hope you find a viable gluten-free alternative and if you do, please share. I’ll keep an eye out too.

  7. How kind. It really sucks trying to homeschool and having such limitations on streaming. However, at least we have satellite. For 10 days we had dial up. THAT was aweful. Anyway, I’m lost. Do you have a link to the question and answer page?

  8. As I said on the transcription page I thoroughly enjoyed reading that. I was tickled to see our gluten-free fodder chats discussed. I believe I mentioned I got some barley from someone. Because it is so much cheaper than all the other alternatives AND because the chickens are already getting gluten in their commercial feed I am likely going to try the barley until it gets cool in several months. Then I’ll try the oats. At least they are less likely to have so much gluten in them. I’d love to do a mixture of lentils and beans and such, but we’re pretty strapped for cash so I’m going to have to suck it up and do cheap. I will still provide commercial feed, at least for awhile, so the chickens can supplement if they feel they need to. We give them a lot of kitchen scraps in the summer because we eat a lot of melons, but in the winter that really cuts back.

    I’ve been giving the chickens their own shells for calcium. I know you give black sunflower seeds but what do you give them for calcium? And do you give them anything else besides fodder?

    I have an 8×8 glass baking dish with barley growing in it. I’m not setting up a full fodder machine until we get back from vacation. I found it reasonably easy to grow fodder in the glass baking pan. The first couple rinses I just poured the pan into a mesh net and replaced it all in the pan. But then it had become a mat and I didn’t have to worry about things sliding out when I rinsed. Unless I can drill holes in the glass I may just do it this way rather than using your eloquent tray system. It’s a bit more work but I’d rather use glass than plastic. However, we’ll see. It’s at least a month before I do more than make snacks for the chickens.

    • I hear ya on wanting to keep feed cost down! That’s why I do barley too. For some reason wheat is incredibly expensive here. Good idea too on switching to oats in cooler weather.

      For chickens I feed: 8-day fodder (0.6-0.7 lbs each), free-choice oyster shell (for calcium since while I was feeding shells, one hen wanted to eat her eggs), and then they get grit (sand) from our super sandy soil. The chickens also get garden scraps when available and get time outside the pen to find bugs.

      For rabbits I feed: 6% of their body weight in 8-day fodder, 1/4 cup of black oil sunflower seeds, free-choice orchard grass/Timothy hay, and a mineral salt lick.

      And hey, if the glass works for you, it works. Run with it! Just beware of mold, as it usually sets in once the green sprouts come up.

      • Thank you. That’s very helpful. Chickens get fodder, oyster shell, sand from soil, foraging, and I think you previously said black sunflower seeds. One clarification question…how many ounces of barley seed do you sprout per chicken per day?

      • Sorry if I was a bit confusing… I only feed the sunflower seeds to the rabbits. Sometimes I forget which animal people are asking about. I start 4 cups of dry seed (to soak and be sprouted) a day for my 6 laying hens.

      • My mistake on the sunflower seeds. Now I vaguely remember you saying something about oil. I thought it was chickens.

        I just looked at all my glass jars of microgreens. No signs of mold. Phew. Now to think and rething the glass thing. Though a friend did share a youtube of drilling holes in glass. But, you guessed it, I can’t watch that until we get our internet data for next month.

      • Thanks so much for this info! How are your layers doing on barley only. I’m attempting to raise red rangers for meat on barley only and I’m just checking to see what your success rate is?
        Thx!

  9. A verry encouraging blog. I wonder if common bush beans can be sprouted for chicken and how long it would take in the tray?

      • Well, a bit more research here. You said in some post your barley doesn’t grow well in 86 degrees of evap cooled housing. I have had great luck with 80ish degree swamp cooled housing. Our neighbors keep their house warmer, about 83-85 degrees. They have not had good success sprouting barley, though wheat works fine. I sprouted some of their barley seeds to make sure it wasn’t bad seeds and they grew just fine here. Well, my kitchen barley got infested with fruit flies. I kept the existing barley growing in the kitchen but each new day’s growth I put in our cooled garage. But, it doesn’t get quite as cool as our kitchen, just a bit warmer. And the barley didn’t grow well. And what we had got fruit flies. So I moved each new batch of barley into the bathroom (which is cooler than the garage) and it’s growing just fine. So, it appears barley doesn’t like temps even a few degrees above 80.

        It’s still warm here so the barley shrivels up after a few minutes of being ignored by the chickens. I am feeding them a few times a day to give them barley they will eat. Egg production dropped and I wondered if they were not eating enough barley to maintain egg production so I am giving them half the feed amount they used to eat and their egg production seems to be improving. The neighbor’s chickens are molting so not laying well. I still am not sure why egg production here went down, but it seems more food related than molting. The neighbor is higher up in the desert mountains so maybe her birds are molting earlier than mine. It’s hard to tell as I have a nasty hen who has been hard on the other hen’s feathers. So who knows if they are molting or not. I am curious to see if I can start feeding them differently once it cools down here and the fodder doesn’t wilt so fast.

        Sarah, do you just set the fodder in the chicken coop or do you have some sort of special feeder?

      • How odd! My barley won’t grow an ounce if it is anything above 80*F even with a swamp cooler running. We don’t have a garage or else that is where I would keep it just to keep from smelling it all the time. Wheat is a little less temperamental than barley, but it is hard for me to find here, so I use barley.

        If your chickens aren’t eating the fodder quickly, then I would attribute their egg production drop to the feed. You have the right idea of adding something else for them to eat. That’s what I have been doing. I have been soaking barley seed for the chickens only to eat to supplement the fodder. That way they always have something to eat even if the sprouted fodder doesn’t grow well (like it hasn’t all summer).

        I just toss the whole chunk of fodder in the run for the chickens and they circle around it instantly. It took a long time for them to be interested in the fodder, but now they act like pirañas.

  10. My chickens love the fodder, I think their stomachs get full and they wander off until they can browse on it later, but it’s so hot here the fodder just wilts. When my chickens were just getting grains and table scraps, giving them bits of fodder was like giving me ice cream. When they were transitioned to mainly fodder, giving them grain was their ice cream. I think they want what is rarest. Hmmm…I wonder if I could just supplement the fodder with the sprouted barley. How many days do you sprout the barley and do you just give it to them freechoice? What’s the outside temperature when you give them the sprouted barley (I want to know if the barley will be usable in our hot temps.) And, What’s your outside temperature when the chickens can live on just fodder? Giving them more barley and less feed would certainly save us a lot of money. I will still give them about 25% of the feed I used to give them just to make sure they are getting variety in their diets, but right now I’m at about 50% and I’d rather give them more barley as it’s cheaper.

    And I just found a fruit fly in the bathroom barley. Do you know of an herbal way to get rid of fruit flies?

    • I think you’re right, chickens only want what they can’t have. 😉 You can make a fruit fly trap: take a water bottle, put some fruit and a little water in the bottom, make a paper cone with a very small opening at the top, stick the inverted paper cone to the water bottle about 1/4 to 1/2 of the way, tape, and voila! It works alright for a few fruit flies, but not droves of them.

    • You might want to think about putting the barley in the freezer
      for 24 hrs, should kill da bugs, It works to kill moth’s when I use
      chick starter to feed meal worms, Just a thought

      • Thanks. I’ve found apple cider vinegar with a drop of liquid soap drowns them. Not my preference, but the “humane” traps I made weren’t so successful.

  11. And you can get rid of the smell if you elevate your barley (I use strips of wood to elevate baking cooling racks and then cover them with cotton fabric. Unbleached muslin works well.) My husband’s nose is very sensitive and he says with this system (and ample holes in the plastic, we use crates) there is no smell.

  12. No, not the seed, just the setup for us. Really, give some air under the seeds so the mold doesn’t grow and you’ll be pleased.

  13. I was wondering about the amount of fodder by weight. I think you said 3-5% of the weight of the rabbit, is that what they currently weight or what they will weigh as an adult? Thanks for your article and all the great pics and the video. This makes my husband and I feel we can do this!

  14. You have such an interesting blog. We raise about 80 pasture turkeys to sell for the holidays and a dozen or so laying hens for ourselves and friends to have fresh eggs.
    We recently have been reading about sprouting for food for animals. We are very interested in trying this. We have found though, that around here it is impossible to buy non treated barley or wheat seeds. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Oh man! That is actually quite terrible. Would you mind sharing what state or area you live in? Hopefully I can help you find someone who has found un-treated barley or wheat in your area. In the meantime, I will try and come up with an alternative you can try.

      Thanks for reading though and a big round of applause to you for raising so many turkeys for your community! Keep on keepin’ on!

  15. Hi Sarah…I am having trouble with my fodder system! I am not getting root mats as thick as yours! It seems I am not having as good of a sprouting rate! Can you help or give suggestions? I am not experiencing mold, I soak them overnight with 1% bleach because vinegar was not working in controlling/preventing mold. I also have a fan blowing to help with too much moisture build up. But still, over 1/2 of the seeds in the container don’t sprout!!! ***HELP***

    • First of all, look at you temperatures for both day and night. Barley will not sprout in temperatures anywhere above or below 65-75*F. Wheat is a little more forgiving in warmer temps, but not by much.

      Second, look at the age of your grain. Old grain tends to be difficult to sprout.

      If neither of those seem to be the problem, try using less bleach.

  16. I am so obsessed with your website! So helpful! I’m really interested in trying that barley seed fodder but being from Fresno might crush my dreams LOL. since it gets around 40* in winter & 115* in summer. There really is not middle, sad to say!

    But, I have questions! How much fodder do you use per rabbit ? Since it is 90% of their diet. Do you just cut a big square and they munch on it all day? Or feed them in portions? How do you measure it out? Also, do you feed the oats only during the winter to give them that extra warmth during the cold months or is it a daily food source mixed in with the BOSS, I saw it on one of your youtube videos and was curious.

    • Hahaha! Well, I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

      I have a fodder feeding chart for both rabbits and chickens in the “Printables” section of the website. I weigh the fodder so that it is accurate each time. Eventually you get a feel for how much to feed just by eyeballing it. I cut a big square with a box cutter and feed them once in the morning. They usually eat it all before noon… roots and all.

      I mostly feed the oats to the does with litters because it increases their milk production and even helps the babies’ digestion. Everyone gets a sprinkle of dry BOSS. Oats and boss are also great to have on-hand when your fodder doesn’t grow quite fast enough. I try my best to only feed the grain mix (alfalfa, wheat, oats, boss) during the hottest and coldest months when the fodder doesn’t grow consistently.

      But if you have a garage or basement or spare room (laundry room?) then try growing it in there to keep the temperature stable.

      • Wow thanks for the reply! I saw you on some forums giving advice & I saw you on my Pinterest that my friends repinned lol. Feel like I’m talking to an internet celeb!
        The printables are amazing ha! I’ll print some out tomorrow morning and laminate them post them up and start following from there! Thank you so much for being so helpful and I’m speaking for a lot of people in the rabbit world we really appreciate it!

        Yeah definitely. I totally forgot about the laundry room lol! Great idea!

        By grain mix do you mean alfalfa or wheat hay or the seeds themselves?

        Another thing is (I promise last question) so all they have on regular days (not too hot or too cold) is 1/4 cup of BOSS, unlimited amount of hay (orchard/Timothy), mineral salt lick & the fodder? Sorry I’m extremely new to the more “natural way to feed rabbits”. I’m really wanting to shy away from feeding commercial pellets. 🙂 I’ll be adopting a French angora sometime this year and I want to be completely ready. So I’m buying stuff here and there. Writing notes to remember about her special breed. Since angoras are a lot different than Flemish giants lol. I’ll be getting a kit, whenever I feel the time is right to adopt (money wise). Would you think it would be okay to have the kit gradually switch to fodder and BOSS right when she arrives home or to wait till she’s a little older maybe around 6 months of age ?

      • Hahaha! If I’m an internet celebrity, the world is in trouble! I guess feeding fodder has made me famous. I’m just glad that more people are getting away from commercial pellets and are looking into more natural feeds as you said.

        I try to make the Printables as pretty as I can so they are worthy of lamination. 😉

        By grain mix I mean a mixture that I put together myself:
        2 parts barley or wheat (whichever I can find cheapest)
        2 parts oats
        2 parts alfalfa pellets (only if I can find them organic and cheaper than regular, loose alfalfa hay)
        1 part black oil sunflower seeds

        When the fodder is growing well and I am feeding it everyday! I do give them 1/4 cup of boss, orchard grass or Timothy hay, and a mineral salt lick. I they don’t eat all their boss in one day, I don’t refill their bowl until they do.

        I would start transitioning your new kit to fodder right away if you can, or at least a whole grain diet like my grain mix. Just remember to go slow and watch for diarrhea or abnormal droppings. Although, I have found that pellets are much more harsh on rabbits than fodder or grains are so you may not have any problems. But go slow anyways.

        Always offer fodder or grains first, then an hour later feed pellets
        Week 1: feed fodder or grains daily as a treat, pellets as normal 100%
        Week 2: feed 25% new food, 75% pellets
        Week 3: feed 50% new food, 50% pellets
        Week 4: feed 75% new food, 25% pellets
        Week 5 and on: feed 100% new food

        For kits, I would also recommend feeding rolled/crimped oats in addition to fodder simply to help their digestion. Boss really just helps put fat on, so keep that in mind as well.

        Good luck! Let me know how it goes and definitely send me pictures when you bring your Frenchie home.

  17. It’s funny, over the last few months we have started Angora’s for fiber along with our Rex meat rabbits. Every time I would search you tube for questions I had about the angora’s (grooming etc) YOUR video’s would come up. We don’t have many rabbits and chickens, but we are already seeing monthly feed costs go up, because we want to feed organic, gmo free, corn free, soy free..=expensive. Searched good ol’ google for fodder systems, you popped up..and I was like “yep, that woman again” LOL. Thanks for providing our little Washington State homestead with good information to take care of our animals 🙂 Not sure if you addressed this specifically, how did you transition exactly? I imagine it’s similar to the transition between feeds, just little bit at a time until it’s all fodder no pellets?

    • Hahaha! I recently had someone else tell me the exact same thing. Except they know me personally so she was a little surprised to keep seeing my name pop up in searches. Apparently google really likes me and my fodder tutorials. 😉

      Yep, transitioning slowly is important, especially with animals that have never (or have not often) been fed green or wet feeds. No one wants to clean up diarrhea!

  18. I have just started growing my first wheat grass fodder for my two Holland lop rabbits. I was wondering how you can tell if there is a mold issue and what you can do about it. Do you have the throw out the fodder? Can I treat the seeds before I start somehow? I am only on day 2. We are seeing some sprouting. It is so exciting, but I don’t want to feed my buns anything that will make them sick. I plan on trying barley soon too.

  19. Hi there,
    I am hoping you can shed a little light on what I may be doing wrong. I am really struggling with getting more than a couple dozen sprouts to come up per pan. I am purchasing my whole barley from a local farmer. I have tried soaking times from 12-24 hrs, with no greater result. I am putting 1/2 inch layer in each pan. I have my pans set to drip into each other as you show on your website, and I have the whole thing inside my house in front of a huge window which gets plenty of morning sun. Is there something I’m missing?? I REALLY want to get this rolling for our small rabbitry that we have. PLEASE HELP!

  20. Wonderful info! Thank you for putting all this together! We’re hoping to start our farm this fall (at least move there, get animals/plant in the spring). What do you think about fodder for baby animals? Namely, goats, chickens, ducks, pigs? Also, how do you figure out the feed needed? Weight them every month and increase it as needed? If we grow our own barley, would it work to harvest and sprout it ourselves?

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

