21 thoughts on “Ack!

  1. Yep, looks way too familiar, lol! I think I have 10 dozen right now in mine with at least 18 more from today that need to be washed and put in. Its either feast or famine when it comes to chickens and eggs!

  2. I am SO with you on this “eggcellent situation”!
    When the ladies finally started laying, they started laying!
    I have blessed every family at church, now I am wondering should I start selling them? 😉
    BTW, anyone care to share their pasta recipe?

    • I second that pasta recipe!

      As far as selling the eggs, I don’t try to make a profit per se. I like to think that I am selling the eggs to help feed the chickens. When you think about it that way, eggs don’t cost much and (if you’re like me) you don’t have to feel guilty about having your friends pay money for something that seems so abundant.

  3. Hi guys! Sorry it took me so long to get back here, I haven’t checked my e-mail in ages! I use a couple different recipes for pasta. This first one is for ravioli, I didn’t make it up, but it’s wonderful! We make a huge double batch of it and put most of it in the freezer. It’s time consuming, but so worth it because it’s the best ravioli ever! Here’s the link to the recipe: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Homemade-Ravioli

    For making basic pasta noodles, I simply mound up 3 cups of flour on the counter top, then make a well in the center and crack six eggs into it. Sprinkle in a little salt. Mix it together starting in the center and working your way out, incorporating more and more flour until you get a soft dough. Then you knead it until it’s smooth and roll out as thin as possible- 1/4 inch or thinner if you can. Cut it up in whatever size noodles you prefer and either lay them out on a baking rack to dry, or hang them on a pasta hanger.

    For whoever asked about the pasta getting moldy- it’s hard for me to say without being there with you… you may be putting it into containers before it’s completely dry, in which case the moisture trapped inside causes molding. Or you may need more ventilation where you’re drying it. Try to make sure you have as much air moving around it as possible, even if you have to open a window to get some air flow going on! Other than that I can’t say why you’d be having problems with mold without seeing what’s going on. If you’re still having troubles you might consider freezing the fresh pasta as soon as it’s finished rather than drying it.

    Good luck with your pasta making ventures!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

