Weed Pullin’

The three of us spent the –somewhat misty– day in the garden. There were some short bouts of rain and a few peeks of sunshine, but for the most part our day in the garden was filled with weeds, dirt, and black clouds overhead. Luck for us, the majority of the rain sprinkles were during our lunch break.

The garden is looking soooo good now. It is always refreshing to pull all those winter weeds out right before spring comes… or the snow. Trevor and Cami ripped out weeds and leftovers with the hoop hoe and I measured and marked the new long beds with stakes and magenta twine. Magenta.

20130303-181259.jpg

20130303-181304.jpg

20130303-181309.jpg

Now we’re ready for a good snow and then spring to finally arrive next month. You heard me. Next month. In fact, it’s common knowledge in our area that at our elevation of 2,800 feet, there is no point in planting anything before Mother’s Day. And it’s true. For the most part. We still cheat a little and start in mid-April.

So with the hopes of building our greenhouse this month, I am expecting to get some seeds out there before the snow leaves for the year. Oh, I so hope we can get to the greenhouse this month. We’ll see. Keep your fingers crossed!

6 thoughts on “Weed Pullin’

  1. Awesome! I love your garden set up! I informed the hubby that when he makes it home next he will be devoting a full day to helping me with farm stuff mainly renting a tractor or rototiller and discing the back acre under for the garden (I wont use all that space but while we have tractor may as well get the fire break done too.) Garden will only be a 40 x 30 area I have in my head what the property we are buyings garden will look like but this one I have to stick to things that will produce the same year they are planted. Cant wait to plant thornless blackberries raspberries and blueberries when we purchase and an orchard of fruit trees and nuts!

  2. I hope you can build your greenhouse soon, you will really enjoy using it! I just began to start me seeds this week and should be moving the first round of seedling into the greenhouse in a couple weeks!

  3. Like you, I’m ready to get in the garden. We’re busy planting our “indoor greenhouse” and planning our edible landscape for the year. It’s fun, but nothing beats getting out there and getting your hands in the dirt! Thanks for sharing this post. (visiting from Homestead Barn Hop)

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

