In Ten Years

20130228-090209.jpg

Lately I have been thinking about what I want my family’s future to look like. I try not to get too far ahead of myself, especially with the current state of our nation and the world, but I also like to know that there is something good coming our way, right there on the horizon. Do you ever feel like that? Or need to? Our life is just fine now, but I want more. Luckily I have lived my whole life knowing that I can have what I want if I just work towards it… it hasn’t failed me yet!

20130228-082427.jpg

This has been an amazing two “farm” years so far and I am equally excited to think about what the next ten, or twenty, or forty years have in store for me. Here I am, on the light side of thirty, thinking about where I want myself and my family to be in ten years. I certainly am not afraid to work for it so I know anything is possible.

In ten years, I will….

* OWN land! Plain and simple. I don’t hate where I am, but I do hate the many restrictions of not only living on a small residential lot, but also the restrictions of living in a homeowners association (aka: livestock haters) and having to ask permission from the landlord to do things (yes, we rent). Ideally, I would flourish on anywhere from 2-20 acres.

* Be raising a pair of pygmy dairy goats. Just enough for our own consumption of milk and cheese. Lots of goats would be fun, but I’m not sure I can handle keeping more than two contained within a fence.

* Be living in or building a cob cottage. Having worked with clay my whole life, I think I could really appreciate living in a house with a real earthy feel where every wall was molded by family and friends. Although, I’m not so sure that any of MY family would participate in building a cob house. Like I said, I’m a black sheep of a black sheep family. Trevor really loves yurts (Blue Yurt Farm envy) so that is always a possibility.

* Find a way to live off of the land to the extent that our family will need very little outside income. Whether this will include Trevor still working a day-job, bartering for what we need with what we have, leading workshops, or selling things we produce for income… I don’t know, but I’m sure it will all fall into place eventually.

In ten years I would love to wake up in my cob cottage, go out to feed the animals and spend the rest of the day with my family in the garden. That is pretty much all I want for. Greedy? Perhaps, but since starting Frühlingskabine Micro-Farm I have learned how much joy can come from honest work. We have done so much and learned so much in these last two years that now I just can’t imagine going back. It by no means will be a “simple life” and that is okay with me.

15 thoughts on “In Ten Years

  1. The first picture with the little girl is the most precious pic I have ever seen! I hope you save that one for her grandkids 🙂 Not sure what a cob house is, but we used to live in an adobe house with 18″ thick walls. It was wonderful. God bless

  2. Not greedy at all! I think it’s great to make a list of your hopes and dreams for your family. Like you said, it gives you something solid to work towards. I think striving for a self sustained country life is admirable and very do-able. Your goals sound very much the same as mine. We are attempting to homestead in the city and would love to get some acreage in the near future.
    That’s so funny that you guys are thinking about getting a yurt, because we are too! Our ultimate goal is to buy a plot of land and build a house out of logs from our property, living in a yurt in the meantime. I love your blog, by the way! Just started following you recently! 🙂

    • A yurt just seems like such an economical way to live on land without a house or while a house is being built. Or even permanently I suppose! What an accomplishment that would be to build a house from logs/trees on your own property. Just to live in a home you built with your own hands… amazing I’m sure. Thanks for reading and sharing!

  3. Setting goals and working toward them is a very important (and sometimes overlooked) part of homesteading. How wonderful that you’re looking ahead. Thanks for sharing! (visiting from Homestead Barn Hop)

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas

  4. I just want to tell you that I was exactly where you are at one time. We currently own 34 acres. We live on a fully equipped homestead with barn, gardens, orchard, chicken house, etc… We also own 30 acres on which we plan to build our dream homestead. So whatever you do, don’t give up!!!

    I just want to make some suggestions. Before we moved to Oklahoma we lived on 3 rented homesteads with acreage, that we moved to after we left our rented house on a lot in a Southern California neighborhood. I was like you, I wanted to live out my homestead dream, but we weren’t at a place where we could afford to buy. In fact, hubby told me at the time we couldn’t afford more rent either.

    So I went to hubby, and said “If I can find a place to rent with acreage at exactly what we are paying now, will you let us move there. He said, sure! So I set about looking for a place! I ran down every ad I could. I called people and told them what I was looking for. I negotiated. I ended up doing this three times before we were finally able to buy, and buying required changing states.

    One of the places we rented was 5 acres in the hills of southern California. I negotiated with the owner, who owned a ten thousand square foot mansion down the road into letting us pay $750 per month instead of the $1500 per month he was asking. We lived there three years, and he never raised the rent. Sometimes you have to think outside of the box. During this time we raised goats, pigs, chickens, rabbits, and other assorted animals. So again don’t give up!

    • Your story is so encouraging! Thanks for the advice! I would really like to stay in this area (which isn’t impossible with all the ranch land and forested areas around us), but I’m never opposed to finding somewhere new. I’m sure we will find somewhere perfect in the next several years. We just get that “itch” sometimes to do everything we are restricted on and to actually have something to call our own.

  5. Why “cob” only? In California, there have been some “straw bale” homes made as well. The “bales” are covered with (I think?) adobe. The indoor temps on the homes are very stable and change slowly; there are provisions made for plumbing and electrical as well. So now there may be three possibilities for your dream house: cob, yurt, and (perhaps) straw bale. 🙂

    • Thinking back, I’m not sure I meant ONLY cob. I have fallen in love with many a cob, straw bale, and yurt home. I have since found a straw bale house outside of town, so obviously they were able to find a few loopholes in our county’s strict building codes to be able to build a two-story straw bale home. It gives me hope! Someday I’ll find that perfect house on great land and then, even if the house is not cob, or straw bale, or a yurt; I can always build our outbuildings as such.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

