Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day four

Follow our series on starting and maintaining a sprouted grain system for natural livestock fodder! It’s like providing pasture for your animals without needing the pasture and at a fraction of the cost. Enjoy!

We have sprouts! I took these pictures yesterday, but I had a late night so I didn’t get to post them. Today I actually see some green poking out from the mass of seeds! The other weird thing is that the volume of seeds has easily doubled without having sprouted yet. I can’t wait to weigh the originally 1.16 pound tray in a few more days. I have pretty high hopes for this project.

Just like yesterday and for every day that this fodder system continues: I soaked, drained, and put new grain in new trays to keep the cycle constantly going. My previous trays as well as the new trays were watered twice throughout the day.

20130216-085134.jpg

Look at that root system! If any of you have younger kids, this would be a fun science-y project to do for sure. Test different soak times even.

20130216-085217.jpg

6 thoughts on “Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day four

    • I get my barley seed from the local feed store/farm store, but you can also find it at places like Tractor Supply, a local grain mill, or online bulk stores like Azure Standard. Look for “feed grade” or “field run” because they will be much cheaper than human “food grade”. You can use barley or wheat, even oats but they do not germinate as well.

      • I live in North Eastern PA. We have a new Tractor Supply in the area and they have no idea of what I’m talking about. The local Agway and pet food stores don’t carry/ can’t get re-cleaned barley, oats, wheat, rye, in an form; feed grade or field run. Please give me any suggestions on how to find a supplier. I’m in the upper Pocono Mountians region.

      • Wow! I am astonished that they don’t carry anything…. but then again, I have a little beef with Tractor Supply because I have gone in there several times and managed to talk to every single person who was misinformed about what they carry. They have wheat and oat grain on their website so I can’t imagine that they couldn’t special order it for you if it isn’t usually carried in the store.

        Umm…Tractor Supply, that’s called good customer service.

        Look in your phone book or do an online search for “farm stores” or “feed stores” in your area. Ask the owner for:
        “whole seed or grain that can be sown”

        Not rolled, not heat-treated, no pesticides, but “re-cleaned” is okay (not necessary). Wheat grain and barley grain are often labeled as horse feed or poultry feed so keep that in mind when looking. If all else fails, Azure Standard sells grain seed in bulk –although it will be more expensive than finding a local source.

        Talk to those Tractor Supply employees again, they either have no idea what they sell, or are too lazy to order it for you.

      • Hello again Sarah,
        Well, I’ve done some more research and here’s what I’ve learned. In our area barley is VERY hard to come by if you can even find it. This morning I spoke with the closest grain mill in my area, up in NY state. I explained to them what I was looking to do, fodder feed for rabbits, and they informed me the only 2 grains available for this are either rye or oats. Azure Standard is a supply option only if I wish to pay the $56.00 shipping cost. OUCH!, so that knocks them out of the picture.
        So, my question to you, is rye a good alternative for doing fodder feed for French Angora’s? I’m trusting your since answer you have done so much research for your own rabbits diet.
        Thankfully, Lotte in NEPA

      • Ouch is right! Jeez. Ordering from Azure Standard is really only worth it if you can split an order with other people and lessen the blow of that high shipping cost.

        Yes, you can use “ryegrass” seed for fodder and supposedly it is easy to sprout. I don’t have any personal experience growing it. Just be sure to supplement with black oil sunflower seeds for the extra oils and fats. You could also try oats, but they are much harder to sprout than ryegrass, and are mold-prone.

        That’s how it seems to be all around the country. I can’t find ryegrass at all and wheat is incredibly expensive/non-existent. The east coast can’t find barley, but oats are fairly cheap. I suppose it is all based on where the different grains are grown.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

