Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day five

Follow our series on starting and maintaining a sprouted grain system for natural livestock fodder! It’s like providing pasture for your animals without needing the pasture and at a fraction of the cost. Enjoy!

It’s official, we are half way through our fresh fodder experiment and we already have strong sprouts and a fantastic looking root system. The roots are so bulky that they have literally raised the seeds and sprouts up off of the bottom of the tray a half inch. Even the green sprouts are bulky! They aren’t thin or flat like grass. The barley sprouts are almost triangular. I can see how this sprouted fodder could be a complete food source for so many animals.

Just like yesterday and for every day that this fodder system continues: I soaked, drained, and put new grain in new trays to keep the cycle constantly going. My previous trays as well as the new trays were watered twice throughout the day.

20130216-193306.jpg

20130216-193315.jpg

5 thoughts on “Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day five

  1. Just found your blog from My simple country living blog. I am following this saga excitedly as I want to do this for my goats & chickens ! I’d seen the commercial units in the FarmTek catalog I get & knew it could be done for mini farm like mine if I knew how to start! thank you for your ideas & research & the generosity to share!

    • Thank you for reading! I really is easy to do and isn’t as time intensive (even hand watering) as some people say. I have seen the FarmTech systems too and I really wish someone would come up with a “homestead” sized system with nice trays. I am posting a quick video this afternoon of my whole setup so you will be able to see how we are doing it without spending more than $20.

    • Woo Hoo so glad I found your blog on growing fodder. I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time and now I’m going to start. I have chickens and rabbits I want to try this on first and if they love it I’ll include my horse as well. Keep up the good work. So helpful.

  2. Love seeing your posts! We just got 1 ton of untreated barley in yesterday and will be starting our foddder system for our milk cow, sheep and chickens tomorrow. Pretty excited to get it.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

