Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day two

Follow our series on starting and maintaining a sprouted grain system for natural livestock fodder! It’s like providing pasture for your animals without needing the pasture and at a fraction of the cost. Enjoy!

Day two turned out to be pretty exciting! I can see a little sproutage at the very tips of the barley grain. Like tiny nubs showing just the beginnings of something wonderful. What a fun little experiment this is turning out to be. I was telling my mother today (who thinks most all of my “experiments” are crazy) that I soaked one batch of grain for 18 hours and the other batch for 6 hours to see if soaking times made a difference. To this she replied, “it’s like you’re in science class all over again!” Yes mother… I am in high school science class. Too bad I’m not, because I’m pretty sure I got a ‘D’ grade in science lab. I blame boring theoretical experiments.

Any how, my little lab test is showing that the grain from different soak times are growing at roughly the same rate. Maybe in another day or two we will see a difference, but I think it will be pretty close.

Just like yesterday and for every day that this fodder system continues: I soaked, drained, and put new grain in new trays. My previous trays as well as the new trays were watered twice throughout the day. Let’s cross our fingers for more growth tomorrow!

20130213-210242.jpg

8 thoughts on “Livestock Sprouted Fodder System :: day two

  1. I found your blog through one of the barnyard hops. It’s now one of my favorites. So different and refreshing. Not the same old homesteading stuff. Makes me want to turn my 1/2 acre into a microfarm. (It’s pretty much a cliff, unfortunately) Can’t wait to watch the grain grow!

  2. Sarah Did you get the seeds from the feed store? If your Barley seeds sprout I may go ahead and do a Barley sunflower mix. I did not have much luck with the oats I got small sprouting then sporadic growth! looks like an old man that just has little shoots of hair here and there. I did use seeds that were packaged with instructions to plant in dirt. (it was what I had on hand) I think you mentioned that oats are more difficult to sprout.

    • I have heard that oats are much more difficult to sprout, but I haven’t tried them myself… yet.

      I purchased a 50 pound bag of “recleaned barley seed” from the feed store. The owner asked if I was looking for planting seeds so that may be another way to ask for it. (I told him what I was planning to do and he didn’t even bat an eye. They are getting to know me there I guess!) Just make sure you buy un-treated and pesticide-free seeds so that you know they will sprout.

      So far, so good on the barley!

  3. I buy feed wheat, not clean enough to grind for bread,but works great for spouting. I put three cups in gallon jar, soak at least 8 hours. Rinse and then put them in my 5 tray spouter and start soaking some more as in two days I’ll have 2″ green spouts. Keeps my chickens laying all winter…started feeding my hens when they were still just days old and they come running for their treat. Nice orange yolks all winter long. Have done barley and rye. Oats aren’t too common here where it is mostly cattle country. Enjoy reading about your little farm.

    • We are using feed-grade barley because wheat is far more expensive in our area. It’s great to hear that your chickens do so well on fodder! It gives me a little more confidence in getting our animals switched over from commercial pellets. Thanks for sharing Diana!

  4. What’s up to every one, the contents present at this web
    site are truly amazing for people knowledge, well, keep
    up the nice work fellows.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

