Babies Coming Out Of My Ears

It is becoming a comforting feeling knowing that there are plenty of rabbits out in the Rabbitry. Plenty for what? It doesn’t really matter, but there are plenty. Enough? No. Plenty? Yes.

Fragmented sentences aside, Dandelion had her new litter last night. The six beautiful, squirmy newborns are fed and warm, relaxing in their well built nest (inside overnight for this first week). It looks like one is a ruby-eyed white and the other five are colored. Geez do I have my fingers crossed for some fawns! Breeding animals is like rolling a dice and praying for a seven. Come on seven!

So, now Dandelion gets a breeding break for a few weeks. I would like to get one more litter from her before summer rolls around, but otherwise, she has done very well for me this year so far. Thanks Dandelion! Keep up the good work and please keep feeding those babies! Lord knows I don’t need to hand-feed any more of your kits.

20130207-220925.jpg

13 thoughts on “Babies Coming Out Of My Ears

  1. Awww, so sweet! Bunnies are such sweet friends, aren’t they? I have a ruby-eyed white Jersey Wooly named Alice. I don’t breed her, but I do collect and spin her wool (when there is enough). Dandelion’s babies are so precious!

    I would love it if you would share this, and two other posts of your choice, at Farm Girl Blog Fest #19, which is live now.
    http://thismindbeinyou.blogspot.com/2013/02/farm-girl-blog-fest-19.html

    Thanks and hope to see you there!
    ~Kristi@Let This Mind Be in You

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

