Drum Roll Please….

Ta da! We finally got an egg out of those freeloading chickens! Over the last two months we have actually had to buy a couple dozen eggs from the store. Mostly for cakes and cookies because those store-bought things are far from flavorful enough to scramble.

20130204-151536.jpg
Like our custom printed calendar? I think I’ll sell them in our Etsy shop next year. It’s a whole calendar of Frühlingskabine pictures!

Phew… for a few days there I was starting to worry that I may never see an egg again. Our chickens went through a very hard molt in December so I knew it would be awhile, but it was getting a bit ridiculous. All is well now though.

This is the beginning of the last year on the farm for these hens. After their second egg cycle, a hen’s egg production declines. So, around here, that means you are replaced with someone who will produce. In the summer we will purchase chicks and grow them out to replace our current hens– who will end up in the freezer at the end of fall before their molt. We don’t call them “old hens” around here. We call them “slow cooked”.

8 thoughts on “Drum Roll Please….

  1. Where did you do that project? It looks professionally done! And why was I not informed? Lol I tell u all my plans and projects in case u want in! Lol or is it cuz I never shut up?! Hmmmmmm……

  2. You must have started talking about my chickens laying 20 eggs in 7 days and how you are going to replace them with brahmas The chickens heard you!!! Seriously though light affect there production so the sunny days we have had may have helped.

  3. I’m not against putting the old girls in the stew-pot, and we’ve butchered our fair share of homegrown chickens, but I keep our egg-layers around for years longer than the literature recommends and some of our oldest are our most productive. We have one that’s about 8 years old now and still laying. I find it a bit easier to raise a big batch of boys just for meat, since I won’t be quite as attached to them when their time is up. In case you need an excuse to keep your girls around just a wee bit longer…

    • Wow! Eight years! That is incredible! We have pretty limited space so anyone using even the smallest footprint on this “farm” needs to be at peak production. If we had more space, I would be more than happy to let older hens retire. I like to play things by ear around here so if I feel they have another year in them, they will get the chance.
      Thanks for reading Robin!

  4. That’s so funny. I kept telling my hens they were freeloading, too! “Hmm, I guess I’ll feed you, even though you aren’t feeding ME.” lol Mine came back slowly, but now we are back up to the full production they were at before they went on strike. And I’m swimming in eggs again!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

