Turnips and Fluffy Butts Of Another Sort

I think we may have overlooked a turnip when harvesting the last plot a few days ago. My biggest clue was finding this…

20130120-150919.jpg

I don’t know how we missed it. I mean, it’s huge! It seemed to be hiding underneath the kale. Can I be honest for a minute? I hate kale. I know I am supposed to like it as a wannabe homesteader and I have even tried making myself like kale by turning it into “kale chips”. I just can’t down the taste. To be fair though, I don’t like most leafy greens. I make myself feel better about being anti-salad by eating lots of cabbage. I do like cabbage.

You know who else doesn’t like kale? Our chickens. Our chickens who have recently re-grown their fluffy feathers after their hard winter molt.

I pulled out a bunch of our frostbitten crops and threw them to the chickens along with a few small pumpkins we were given. The chickens just won’t eat kale or beet greens… I’m not entirely sure why, but they do enjoy weeds and failed Brussels sprouts! There’s another crop I don’t think we have a long enough cool (not frozen) growing season for. Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, and snow peas just don’t grow well around here. We do grow some mean root crops though! As is beautifully illustrated by our massive winter turnip.

20130120-152208.jpg

20130120-152217.jpg

4 thoughts on “Turnips and Fluffy Butts Of Another Sort

  1. I also hate kale. I don’t mind Swiss Chard, though I will never eat it on its own, usually in a Frittata. I do really enjoy collard greens. I am so glad to find someone else who doesn’t worship kale!

    When we had quail they would eat just about any green I gave them but being cooped up in cages all the time probably made them less picky.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

