Lacto-Fermented Soda :: mango soda results

Follow our series on how to make your very own soda starter, known as a “ginger bug”, from scratch! Join in on the fun and let’s see if we can make our own custom flavored sodas.

20121222-174213.jpg

Oops! I should have known to open my soda over a sink… or with a towel over it… or slowly… but I didn’t and it foamed right out the top! Oh well. Hindsight is 20/20.

So I think I let my first fermentation go a little longer than I needed to. I could have let it sit out to ferment for 24-48 hours instead of three days and then bottled it. It’s still good, don’t get me wrong! It’s just that I’m a little drunk now. I think I might have made mango wine instead of mango soda. Oops!

Super yummy stuff though. I’m taking a bottle to the family Christmas party for sure. Just remember, fruit juice ferments a whole lot faster than plain ‘ol ginger sugar water (ginger beer recipe). Lesson learned. Yummy, mango-y lesson learned.

And also take a sip to test out any “sodas” before serving them to children. A good rule of thumb is that if it tastes alcoholic, it is alcoholic. If anyone needs a darn good mango wine recipe though, I’ve got one.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

