Lacto-Fermented Soda :: mango soda bottled!

Follow our series on how to make your very own soda starter, known as a “ginger bug”, from scratch! Join in on the fun and let’s see if we can make our own custom flavored sodas.

After 24-48 hours* of fermenting on the counter, our mango soda is ready to bottle. As soon as I took the cheesecloth over off I noticed lots of foam. I skimmed most of it off to give it a sniff to see if it was still any good. Smelled good… real good! Then I gave it a little stir to see what it do and boy howdy— the soda instantly started fizzing and started to overflow out of the gallon jar! Well it’s ready to bottle now!

20121216-115100.jpg

My mother bought six liters of Italian soda at the supermarket that came in these flip-cap bottles so I asked her to save them for me when she was done with them. Thankfully I didn’t need to spend $40-60 on a twelve pack of these puppies although I may need some replacement rubber gaskets eventually. I only used four and a half of the 750mL (25.4 ounce) bottles. The fifth bottle wasn’t quite filled so we will have to drink that one first.

20121216-115837.jpg

Now our mango soda will sit on the counter (hopefully explosion-free) for 24-hours or less and then will be stored in the refrigerator until we’re ready to drink it. Which, knowing this family, will be pretty quick.

20121216-120223.jpg

* this first fermentation time has been revised after testing the recipe. 24-48 fermentation yields soda, where the previously suggested 72 hours yields an alcoholic soda.

Linked up at: Small Footprint Friday

10 thoughts on “Lacto-Fermented Soda :: mango soda bottled!

  1. Thanks for linking up to Wild Crafting Wednesday. I haven’t ever done lacto-fermented soda. It sounds very yummy. I’ll be following your links to read your tutorial.
    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. Hi! This soda looks wonderful. (I wish I could have any sugar!) Everyone seems to agree with me, since you have the most clicked post at Small Footprint Friday this week! I can’t wait to see what you link up next! Happy New Year!

    • Thanks! Really there is very little sugar left in the end product because the ginger bug eats the sugar while bottled and thus creating carbonation. I have read that as little as 3% of the original sugar is left after fermenting. I didn’t add any sugar (other than the ginger bug) to the soda so the bacteria just fed off of the sugar that is naturally present in the mango purée. Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: Small Footprint Friday - A Sustainable Living Link-Up!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

