Ginger Bug Natural Soda Starter :: day two

Follow our series on how to make your very own soda starter, known as a “ginger bug”, from scratch! Join in on the fun and let’s see if we can have our own custom flavored sodas in the next week or so.

This morning I gave my ginger bug a sniff and found a pleasant aroma of… ginger. Go figure. I am not a ginger lover by any means, but this smells pretty good. Maybe the rapadura sugar is helping to change my mind.

No bubbles this morning (it is only day two, so I wasn’t expecting any yet), but I hear it is supposed to start bubbling around day three or so. It all depends on the temperature of where you are keeping your ginger bug. Too warm may ruin it and too cool will slow it down.

I already have had a great question from a reader that I thought I should address before we feed our ginger bug this morning:

If you are using white sugar, how much molasses should you add?
First off, this is my first time trying to make a ginger bug, just like you. But since using rapadura (an unprocessed sugar still containing its molasses), I would suggest either a 3:1 or a 4:1 ratio of white sugar to molasses for regular ginger bug feedings. For starting your ginger bug, I recommend using 1 tablespoon of white sugar and 1 tablespoon of molasses in place of the 2 tablespoons of rapadura. Use rapadura or sucanat as a first choice, but I totally understand if you don’t have it readily available.

20121121-115726.jpg

I have a regular laboratory in my kitchen! First, find a time of day that is convienient for you in which to feed your ginger bug every day. I have mine sitting right next to my sourdough starter and I feed them both when I get up in the morning. Maybe it is more convienient for you to feed your ginger bug when you get home from work. Whatever works for you. Just don’t forget.

20121121-120020.jpg

Today:

* Feed your ginger bug 2 teaspoons of rapadura (1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon molasses) and 2 teaspoons of ginger root finely chopped with the peel/skin.
* Give your ginger bug a gentle stir.

* Later today or tonight, give your ginger bug a second gentle stir.
(If you are feeding in the evening: stir once in the morning, feed in the evening, and then stir a second time in the evening.)

20121121-120536.jpg

3 thoughts on “Ginger Bug Natural Soda Starter :: day two

  1. I highly recommend keeping any ferments of separate cultures at least 5 ft apart, if not more, since they can contaminate one another and it weakens each culture. It shouldn’t matter too much at this point but when your bug is really going, you don’t want it contaminate by the yeasts in the starter because they might interefere with the flavor.

    • Ooh… Good point! I’ll move my bug into the cabinet or something. My microscopic kitchen has pretty limited space. Will the dark hinder my bug’s progress? Thanks for the tip by the way, I’m just going about this by what a friend told me to do.

      • No, the dark won’t affect it at all. These cultures don’t need air or light to develop. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

