What Is and What Isn’t

Oh man! I just had to share this with you. As a Pinterest lover/addict, I realize that some truths are spread quite thin on the Internet and definitely on Pinterest. I have made recipes from the site that both worked and failed and I have even tried a few crafts that looked like they could be out of an issue of Better Homes & Gardens.

Even with all that in mind, I still had to chuckle when I saw a few “micro-farming” ideas on Pinterest today.

20121006-185026.jpg20121006-185039.jpg

20121006-185050.jpg20121006-185057.jpg

Some things are better left in a fantasy world. Not that I don’t think it’s possible to go apple picking with a $4000 bag, but is it likely? No. Cuddle a chicken in a designer dress? Ha! Likely-hood that the chicken would have such pristinely clean feet? None. The herbs and piglets are cute too, but I don’t see that working out for long and have you ever met a full grown pig? Or three? I count my fingers before I leave.

In the last year-and-a-half, this is what I have learned micro farming really is:
* Chicken poop sticks. It sticks to you, it sticks to me, it sticks to chickens, it sticks to shoes and tools.
* Deer scare the hell out of you when you go out in the dark to close up the chicken coop.
* The things you really want to grow… won’t.
* When you get sick of tomatoes, you have about 100 more unripe tomatoes waiting for you on the vine.
* Things are ever-changing and so must you be.
* Raccoons are the devil! They can climb raccoon-proof fencing, rip open enclosures, and kill anything that smells like chicken.
* Perfectly composed photo-ops with animals are mythological.
* The joys of keeping a garden and animals trump fashion, clean hands, and a messy house.

5 thoughts on “What Is and What Isn’t

  1. This post made me laugh out loud! Reality isn’t nearly as pretty…such as doing the necessary early morning chores before a toothbrush or hairbrush in your jammies! Never have explored the topic on Pinterest but I have cancelled magazine subscriptions that were nothin more than eye candy.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

