Sourdough From Scratch :: day six

Find the full “Sourdough From Scratch” series here and make your very own sourdough yeast starter!

I think I may spend a little while tonight looking up what a finished sourdough starter is supposed to look like. Not that I think my starter isn’t progressing, I just can’t tell if this thing is going to be ready after tomorrow’s last step. I will share what I come up with. We may all be at different stages anyway since we don’t all live in the same place. Maybe yours is more bubbly than mine or perhaps yours has more extra liquid. Everyone’s will look a little different anyhow.

20120902-161826.jpg

20120902-161833.jpg

Today my starter has half the extra liquid floating on top as it did yesterday. What that means, if anything, I don’t know. There are quite a few bubbles and it smells as sour as ever so I couldn’t be too far off, right?!

Let’s add our one cup of flour and one cup of cold water. Remember that you can use any combination of flours if you rather use whole wheat or something else. I just happened to buy six 5-pound bags of all-purpose flour on sale for 50 cents each so I’m going to be baking bargain bread in a few days. Use whatever you have!

See you tomorrow for our (hopefully) last additions.

7 thoughts on “Sourdough From Scratch :: day six

  1. I made desem bread once. It worked out well except that I let my starter die. It’s the same idea as sourdough, except it’s a dough rather than a batter type starter. Anyway, the first time I tried to use it I thought I had failed completely because after the week required to get my starter going it didn’t cause my bread to rise. I later found out that the first thing to grow in the starter is bacteria, which cause bubbles and it looks like wild yeast has indeed started growing in your starter but it’s actually not. After the bacteria has created enough acid in the starter the yeast can then move in. My first batch of desem was flat and hard. But the next week it smelled like yeast rather than just sour and that loaf of bread rose like it should have.

    Anyway, long, possibly confusing comment just to say, if your first loaf of sourdough isn’t everything you hoped it could be, don’t give up. Your starter may just be a late bloomer 🙂

  2. There are different starter consistencies. Some are more watery than others. Many recipes begin with yeast, but continue the starter by keeping the yeast alive over time, by removing some of the consumed flour/excrement and adding fresh flour/water. You can also imbibe the starter with a piece of unused leavened dough. I baked sourdough at a bakery for a few years, but never grew my own starter. It is definitely a step to greater self-sufficiency. Pretty soon you will be leasing an acre and borrowing a tractor to grow your own wheat. Watch out world!

  3. I was just thinking the same about my starter. It smells less like socks and more like sourdough bread, but it is still rather soupy in consistency. I have never seen the “right” consistency, so who knows if that’s right. But mine does look like yours in the photo, so I think that’s a good sign. I guess we’ll see. We feed it again tomorrow and the next day we can bake with it? Or can we bake with it tomorrow?

  4. You know Melissa, I’ve looked up quite a few “recipes” for making sourdough starters and everyone does it differently. I did see an interesting one though that started out with a teaspoon of citrus juice for the first two days. They claimed that the acidity helped give the yeast a boost.

    So tomorrow (day seven) will be our last addition of flour and water. On day eight we will bake a loaf of bread. If the bread comes out flat, I think we can try adding some orange/pineapple/lemon juice to the starter to see if that kicks things into high gear.

    I’m just playing this by ear really. We will all learn what works and what doesn’t together.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

