Goodbye and Welcome

In fifteen days our dear Thistle and sweet Clementine will be heading off to their new home in Southern California. In exchange, we will be bringing home a “new to us” buck and doe. Why you ask? We have been searching high and low for the last year for an unrelated buck to continue on in our breeding program. Thistle, altough a wonderfuly entertaining rabbit, is half-brother to Dandelion and sire/father to both Seven of Nine and Blackberry. Since he is the rabbit most related to the rest of our rabbits we have decided to trade him for a buck of the same age.

Clementine is being traded for a younger doe. Not because I really wanted to trade her, but because this may be my only opportunity for awhile to get ahold of a doe that is not related to any of my current rabbits in any way. French angoras are very limited here on the West Coast both in numbers and in genetic diversity. The young lady I am trading rabbits with is stuck with only black rabbits and was very excited to trade for a doe that can produce tortoiseshell colors.

I am so sad to see two of my original three rabbits go, but it is a necessary step in breeding for healthy rabbits with beautiful wool. I think I will miss Clementine the most. She has such a kind, outgoing personality and she was such an excellent mother last spring. Trevor and Cami I’m sure will miss Thistle the most. They like his silly, carefree attitude and friendly disposition. We love you Thistle and Clementine and we hope your new home is as warm and happy as we have tried to make ours.

We have already picked out our new buck, but we will have two ruby-eyed white does to choose from when we meet up to trade. Our new buck’s name is Obsidian. He is a self black which means that he is a solid-colored rabbit instead of a tortoiseshell like we are used to. His wool appears to be grey because the color fades the longer the wool gets. He looks awfully handsome though doesn’t he?

20120831-103917.jpg

6 thoughts on “Goodbye and Welcome

  1. Wow! He is a handsome boy! Well that is good news for me, I guess! If I ever want a second doe I can get one from you that will be totally unrelated to Gnomeo! Yippee! I wonder how you found someone in SOCAL with purebred Angoras? I couldn’t find anyone! But that meant that I got to meet you, which turned out great so I can’t complain! If you are driving all the way down here to get them, you are welcome to stay the night in our guest room!

    • She is actually a mini lop breeder that is just getting going in French angoras. I JUST found her through a google search too! Thank goodness I found someone to trade with before I start my breeding season in a couple months. Phew! If you want to look her up her rabbity name is Elemental Ranch (sorry I don’t have a direct link). Since we’re doing a trade, we are meeting half way which is only 3 1/2 hours, but thanks for the offer!

  2. I am learning that my ideas on inbreeding may be wrong. Inbreeding can be a good thing in terms of fixing desired traits (wool qualities), but bad if it also passes along increased development of disease. But staying in the purebred FA lines should keep us in wool, I think. I have so much to learn, and I know I will never understand a lot of it.

    That buck is gorgeous! I really want a black. I also would like a harlequin angora with short face hairs so that you can really see the line of division on the face.

    Congratulations on your new herd members!

    • I totally agree that line breeding is beneficial for keeping positive traits going. My spring litter came out with one lop ear, one underweight rabbit, and one rabbit who was not as heat tolerant as the others. So my goal with a new buck and doe is to breed those undesirable traits out. I just don’t want those traits to go any further.

    • Wow… a harlequin angora would be beautiful! Considering how difficult it is to find purebred French angoras, a harlequin would be a treasure. You have proved (no offense or anything) that it is very important to stay in purebreds for the proper wool.

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

