Book Bundle Giveaway! [closed]

Who wants two new books?! You do! These books should get you started in the world of preserving your garden harvest in ways other than just pickling. You can only eat so many pickles folks.

This giveaway is not sponsored by anyone but us. We are hosting this giveaway simply because we want to help give some lucky reader out there a little boost of confidence before starting on the (sometimes daunting) task of preserving their fruits and veggies.

20120809-141237.jpg

The Complete Guide to Food Preservation by Angela Williams Duea

“Storing food can be a major challenge for anti family or individual who wants to increase the amount of food available without spending additional money. ‘With rising food costs, the resurgence of at-home gardening, and the potential storing your own food presents, it is no wonder that freezing, drying, and canning are becoming more popular.

This book will show anyone interested in storing food for future use how to do so, optimizing the amount of money you can save and minimizing your risk of damaging food or spreading food borne illnesses. You will learn how to grow for harvest and how to subsequently handle that harvest with this book’s crop-lay-crop guide of everything that you might possibly want to store away. You will learn how freezing works and how to go about organizing your frozen goods. You will learn the various methods of freezing and when failure occurs. In addition to freezing, you will learn about canning and preserving and how each technically works and what problems you may encounter. All of the equipment you may need is laid out in easy to read charts and you will be shown the various final products you can expect.”

20120809-141336.jpg

The Joy of Keeping a Root Cellar by Jennifer Megyesi

“The winning team behind The Joy of Keeping Chickens returns, this time with a complete guide to building and maintaining a root cellar even if it s just a dark and cool closet. This cheap, easy, energy-saving way will keep the harvest fresh all year long.

Here, readers will learn: Which fruits and vegetables store best How to build a root cellar in the country, suburbs, or city How to deal with specific environmental challenges Storage techniques ranging from canning to pickling andsmoking to drying Recipes for everything from tomato sauce to venison jerkyRoot cellaring isn t just for off-the-grid types or farmers with large gardens. Storing food makes good sense, both financially and environmentally. And root cellars can easily fit anywhere. In this intelligent, convincing book, authors Megyesi and Hansen show how to make them part of every reader’s life.”

Ready to enter?
1.) Just leave a comment here telling us what you are looking forward to preserving this year.
2.) For an extra entry, join our “Buckwheat Society” group on Facebook. It’s a group for us micro farmers to discuss and share ideas, projects, and tips/tricks.

This giveaway is open to all countries and readers! Giveaway closes August 31, 2012 at 7:00 PM Pacific. One winner will be chosen at random and will receive the two above mentioned books for free! Good luck and happy preserving.

24 thoughts on “Book Bundle Giveaway! [closed]

  1. Oh my! I would like to enter! My Mom (that tiny crazy lady who eyed you cob oven) started a garden this year at my pushing, has loved it and now has at least 4 times the harvest that I had, darn her green thumb! So I would share these with her since this will be a big thing for her – she has already made a billion jars of pickles…and is just freezing everything else!

  2. I’m new to canning things, but I’d like to make applesauce this year. And in the future preserve more things from my garden!

  3. @ Elizabeth if you like applesauce you might like apple butter which is just as easy as sauce and you can’t get much easier than that. Oh an I freeze my apple sauce. It taste so much fresher. But I do can my apple butter yearly.

  4. Oh, and as much as I would love these books I need them like a hole in my head. So I will pass this time for some one that is new to these wonderful things.

  5. I would love to win these books! Canned peaches for my first time the other day and made some peach syrup/honey with the peels. Going to be canning some pears when they are ready from my sister’s tree. Thanks!

  6. Oh, I want these books for many reasons. #1 – we just got a deep freeze so I’m looking for all the recommendations I can find when it comes to freezing and I especially would like to read the organization tips! #2 – just canned peaches and got really annoyed at the liquid bubbling out of the jars 😦 #3 Have lots of pears coming on – what to do with all of them? #4 Our family will hopefully be growing soon with the addition of a foster-to-adopt baby and more foster kids after that so I’d love to get some good recipes and systems in place before that and #5 I love to read and learn new things – especially related to food 🙂 Thank you for such a great blog – keep up the good work. Will go check out the Buckwheat Society on FB and hope that the peach syrup recipe is there 😉

  7. We’ve doubled our garden (again) because knowing that we are eating the freshest, organic foods makes me feel happy, and my two little ones prefer to eat stuff “they” grew to anything from the store. Now I just need to start canning, preserving, etc. so that we can enjoy for months to come!

    • Food fresh from the garden is the best! Tasting one of my own beets is the first time I have ever liked the things. And it’s the only way I found to get an anti-veggies two-year old to eat carrots! That alone is worth its weight in gold. Good luck on the giveaway.

  8. I am so excited to have found your blog! I am getting an angora doe this week to start our rabbitry on our micro-micro homestead.

    This year I am looking forward to lacto-fermenting some dill pickle relish. I am big of Lacto-fermenting but haven’t done much with condiments as I am always leery of spoilage but I just got an airlock so I am ready to go. As for canning, last year I put up so many tomatoes, pumpkin and applesauce that I don’t have to this year. Good times!

    • Yay! What kind of angora? They are so rewarding to care for and (most) of them are very sweet animals. Just be sure to groom like crazy! If you come up with an interesting lacto-fermenting “article” I would love to feature it here for those of us who have never tried it before (email me). Good luck on the giveaway!

      • I am getting a French mostly because my husband wants to also raise them for meat and I read that the French are more suitable to that purpose. I am a big fan of multi-purpose animals though I cant say I enjoy rabbit meat.

        I would love to write an article about beginning lacto-fermenting! It is really quite easy and better for you than canning. Plus little kids seem to love the pickles.

      • Go Frenchies! That is the very reason we chose French over English or German. I am even taking a workshop on butchering and tanning rabbit… we’ll see how that goes before I really hop on the dual purpose bandwagon.

        I would love to see what you come up with on lacto-fermentation! I’ll email you and we can work something out.

  9. 2 great books by the look of it. I have a cold cellar built into my home and it is usually full of preserving by the end of the fall. It makes me feel like a pioneer. Thanks for linking up with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

