Blackberry Frozen Yogurt (among other things)

My friend and I went blackberry picking yesterday evening. Blackberry picking may be a morning sport, but it gets hot really early here in the summer and we had to bike in. We rode our bikes down the most scenic trail in search of ripe berries. Most of them were still pretty green so we will have to try again in 2-3 weeks. I did, however, come home with a half-gallon bag of juicy, wild blackberries!

I picked enough for a pie… but I didn’t feel like eating a pie. Frozen yogurt (aka: cheater ice cream) sounded so much more refreshing. I suppose I could have drug out the ice cream maker and made a proper fattening dessert, but again, I didn’t feel like it. Making frozen yogurt like this is super fast and easy. Plus you only dirty two dishes making it. Always a winning attribute in my book!

20120805-203526.jpg

Blackberry Frozen Yogurt serves 8

2 cups blackberries
3 frozen bananas (if using fresh, freeze longer)
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 cup milk
1/3 cup honey

Mix all ingredients in a blender until smooth. If that is too much for your blender, split it in half and run each batch through separately. Pour into 9×13″ glass pan and stir to make sure everything is well mixed and there are no lumps.

20120805-203642.jpg

Freeze to set for at least 4 hours. Scoop, serve, and then tell your friends how great Frühlingskabine Micro-Farm is. You know you want to.

20120805-203750.jpg

3 thoughts on “Blackberry Frozen Yogurt (among other things)

  1. This weekend, I had riiuculods smoothie cravings, but I was traveling and had zero blender access. This recipe is giving me cravings all over again but happily, I’m back home and can make one for breakfast tomorrow!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

