Done and Done… Life Can Resume

20120716-195120.jpg

Well, I am finally done with the county fair! Finally! I just can’t stress that enough. I spent three weeks accepting 730+ art entries, assembling various free-standing wall panels, putting together an art show, supervising the art show during open hours, and disassembling the art show. Too much work and too much time away from my family and farm. Let’s just say, I won’t be doing that again next year.

Starting tomorrow morning I can get back to my real life. Waking up with the chickens, feeding the rabbits (and the two-year old), planting fall seeds, picking and canning food from the garden. That’s my real life.

Tomorrow I get to test out my new canning recipe book and my new hand carders for all this angora wool I need to spin into yarn. How relaxing.

4 thoughts on “Done and Done… Life Can Resume

  1. Ooohhh! Exciting! I have been getting a lot of wool off of Gnomeo just from regular brushing. I’ve been keeping the clean stuff in a bag and the mats in another, like you showed me. 🙂 I can’t wait til I have enough to need carders! I have been dreaming about what I will make with that first bit of yarn and I think it will be a delicate lacy shawl for me. What are you going to make? I plan on selling some, but I think my first goal will be to make enough yarn to make something for myself. That seems fitting. I’m glad you are done with all that craziness and get to go back to normal!

    • You know… I have no idea what I want to make first. But I do know that I’m making something for myself before anything else! I’ve raised these rabbits and by golly, I’m going to be the first to benefit! Maybe a little winter hat and a neck cowl for when it snows in a few months.

      • That’s a great idea! I totally agree that it should be for you, with all the work you put into them everyday! You’ll have to post your progress though, from carding to finished hat – I’d be totally interested to see it all!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

