101 Ways to Eat Eggs :: Kumquat Curd

20120608-204014.jpg

Lemon Curd (Kumquat version)
Makes about 2 cups

5 tablespoons butter
1 cup kumquats — including peel, remove seeds and stems
1/2 cup orange juice or lemon juice
2/3 cup sugar
2 whole eggs
4 egg yolks

20120608-205530.jpg20120608-205601.jpg20120608-205701.jpg20120608-205725.jpg20120608-205741.jpg20120608-205756.jpg

Stem and seed kumquats then puree with sugar in a food processor until smooth. In a 10-12” saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Remove from heat and add kumquat puree, orange/lemon juice, whole eggs, and egg yolks. Stir with a whisk to blend well, then return to low heat and stir until mixture thickly coats a metal spoon (8-10 minutes). Pour into small jars; let cool; then cover tightly and refrigerate. This can be kept in the fridge for about 2 weeks or canned.

If canning: use the water-bath method. Ladle into clean, hot 4-ounce or half-pint canning jars, leaving 1/4 inch of headspace. Release trapped air. Wipe rims clean; center lids on the jars and screw on jar bands. Process for 10 minutes. Turn off heat, remove canner lid, and let jars rest in the water for 5 minutes. Remove jars and set aside for 24 hours. Check seals, then store in a cool, dark place for up to one year.

5 thoughts on “101 Ways to Eat Eggs :: Kumquat Curd

  1. I love kumquats so I need to try this. My husband and I are also going to try to can as many things as we can this year to help save on grocery bills throughout the winter. How would you describe the flavor? It looks delicious.

  2. I have homemade bread baking in the oven as we speak (well.. as I type) just to try out the kumquat curd. But, I did try a big spoonful yesterday when I made it and it tasted similar to lemon curd but with a more orangey taste. Good stuff! This was my first time making any kind of “curd” so I’m pretty happy I didn’t end up with kumquat scrambled eggs.

  3. Wow, this looks awesome! Don’t have kumquats though, how do you convert it to just lemon curd? I love that it takes up 6 eggs, my hens are laying up a storm and my fridge is full to bustin’ of eggs, lol! Love following your blog!

    • For plain lemon curd, you just substitute 2/3 cup of lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of grated lemon peel for the kumquat and lemon/orange juice.
      Those eggs have to go somewhere right?! Thanks for reading! It’s always nice to hear that people are enjoying the blog. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway too!

      • Awesome, thanks! I will definitely have to try that! Love lemon and have GOT to do something with the eggs 😀 Why I thought it necessary to buy 20 more pullet chicks this spring which are now running around half grown in our yard, I don’t know 😀 When they start laying I have no idea what I’m gonna do, lol!

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

