The Vision

After perusing around the web and YouTube, looking at homesteading links, I started thinking about what my goals really are for Frühlingskabine. Do I have a real set of goals or is it really just a vision of what I want from life?
I think everyone eventually gets to that junction where wanting to do better for yourself and your children becomes doing better for yourself and your children. Changes need to happen in order to get where you want to be.

The Vision:
My vision is to be (somewhat) self-reliant or self-sustaining. I would like to wake up every morning to feed the chickens, collect eggs, water the garden, say hello to the dairy goats, feed the Angora rabbits, and harvest food from the garden for the days meals.

I would like both meat chickens and egg-layers since my family is by no means vegetarian… maybe 50 eggers and 12 meatsys at any given time. That way I have more than enough for my family and perhaps extra product to sell (which would at least pay for feed and water). The same would go for the dairy goats.

The most important thing for me, and I believe I can speak for my husband also, is that our daughter learns where food comes from. So she can provide for herself when the time comes and how animal husbandry is an important aspect of living.

Reality:
Come September, I don’t think we will be too far off. We will officially be moved into the Frühlingskabine, where our chickens already live, and our rabbits should be almost ready to bring home from the breeder.
I also just ordered a wool spinning wheel off of Etsy (more on that when it arrives) so I will be ready for my first Angora wool harvest. I’m also working on re-learning to knit and crochet. The latter seems to be easier for me.

Our bee hive was shipped today along with “swarm lure”. Trevor is going to try and catch a local swarm. If that fails, we will just order a swarm in January when most places start selling them.

Again, chickens are already thriving at our Micro-Farm and will be getting a bigger upgraded coop in the next week or so. We are aiming for under $300 in cost. I’ll let you know how that goes.

As far as gardening goes, we already have it going… in a sense. We will be co-op gardening with our neighbors who’s backyard backs up to ours and is incidentally our landlord. In exchange for gardening/weeding help and some fresh eggs, we can have a share of some fresh produce. Pretty good starting ground I say.

Lastly, and unfortunately, we will not be able to keep dairy goats. So that aspect of the vision is postponed until we are able to buy our own land. It’s good to always have a goal though and our landlords are very accepting and generous to let us keep our other animals. Someday goats will come into the picture, but for now we’re happy with our other aspects of homesteading.

What is your family vision?

– Sarah

6 thoughts on “The Vision

  1. I know this is an older post but I still wanted to comment. I have a similar vision as you and I’m a renter. My landlord told me as long as I add value to the property I’m allowed to do what I want. I’d love to have chickens but I’m not able to have them in town, not yet at least Im going to try get the city to allow chickens since im not alone in wanting to raise them. But for now I’ve got a garden going and after the fair this summer I’ll have a trio of silver fox rabbits. I’m so excited! I even lucked out on a neighbor giving me 2 4 cage hutches that she no longer uses. Once I have my first cull I’m going to give her some of the meat. I’d love to keep bees but my boyfriend is allergic to bees so that’s a no go unless I find a farmer to rent land from.I started canning last year and I’m in love! I’m already planning on what I’ll be canning this year.I’m still deciding on getting blueberry and raspberry bushes and a chokecherry tree. Only downfall would be having to dig them up if I were to move. I love that you got a spinning wheel! My grandmother gave me her great grandmother’s spinning wheel so thats one thing I’ll be trying this winter. I love your blog and your an inspiration to me! Keep up the amazing blog!

    • First of all, how neat to have been passed down a family heirloom like a spinner’s wheel! I bet it has some great history and its definitely a conversation piece. Never get rid of it! Maybe I can pass my wheel down through future generations.

      Oakland, California author Ruby Blume (whom I recently met), keeps bees and is allergic! Now there’s something to think about. Many large scale farmers and orchards are always happy to house beehives (and may even PAY YOU) since pollinators greatly benefit their crops.

      Renting is hard, but a very real situation for many of us. Being someone else’s land, we don’t have free rein. But it sounds like you are doing great on the rabbit front and working towards chickens. Just keep adding little things here and there always keeping in mind that you may have to move it someday.

      My landlord had blueberry bushes she was throwing in the burn pile because they were nothing more than sticks and hadn’t grown or fruited in 3 years. I stuck them in pots with some rabbit manure and voilà! I have fruiting blueberry bushes! Don’t bother planting stuff like that in the ground… find yourself some pretty, big pots.

      • Oh trust me i will never get rid of that spinning wheel. I’m not sure of any orchards around my area, I live in ND so they only really grow apples. My bf still refuses to have bees, just doesn’t like them. If I did all the work I could have them but for now I’m happy with my garden and rabbits.

        Speaking of blueberries, the big ‘W’ mart had their bushes 50% off so I snagged 6 bushes for $30. They had so many and they look so neglected that I had to get them. How big of a pot do I need for each one?

Leave a Reply :: may be held for moderation

